EBSCOhost is not a single database – it is the name of the search interface. Thigpen Library has several EBSCOhost databases. This page identifies and groups these databases so you can use them more efficiently. Learn how to find a particular article again by using the Permalink or the Cite tool.
EBSCOhost Databases
EBSCOhost is a search interface and the library has several databases that use this interface.
View Thigpen Library's EBSCO databases in groups: Medical, Miscellaneous, and OmniFile. Within each group the databases are alphabetical by title.
Search one, two, or more databases through the EBSCOhost search box when you use the EBSCOhost Database Collection to select specific databases.
- EBSCOhost Database Collection This link opens in a new window View the titles of all EBSCO databases. Select one or more to search.
Health and medical databases for both consumers and medical professionals.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Thigpen Library's subscription to CINAHL REINSTATED July 01, 2023. Nursing and Allied Health research reference database with books/monographs and journals. EBSCOhost database collection
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
OmniFile (HW Wilson) databases
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) is a general interest database that covers many topics.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
All databases with H.W. Wilson in the title are subsets of OmniFile, which means if you searched OmniFile then you have searched Education Full-Text. The following is a complete list of the databases included in OmniFile:
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Art Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Art Index Retrospective (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Education Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tools
- Use the Cite tool for your selected article or book.
- Find your Citation Format on the list.
- Copy and paste the citation for future reference. You will need to modify the citation for inclusion with your essay or research paper, but copying the citation saves the information you will need.
The Permalink tool provides a permanent link to the selected article. This link is different than the one in your browser search bar. The search bar link is temporary and will not get you back to the article or book.
The permalink tool link includes the library's proxy, which connects you back to our database subscription.
NOTE: The link in the citation is also permailink, but it does not include the library's proxy.
EBSCOhost: PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a specialized database on the EBSCOhost search platform. Learn more about using this database on a separate guide.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsychology journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage from 1894 to present.
EBSCOhost database collection
EBSCOhost: eBooks
eBooks in the EBSCO colelction are available to read online in different formats: ePub Full Text or PDF Full Text. The format depends on the publisher.
You can download [or print] pages in PDF format from an eBook. The number of pages available is based on the publisher's requirements and copyright limitations. Typically, you cannot print a complete work. For example the book may have a print limit of 100 pages and you want to print / download a 20 page short story but are only allowed to save 10 pages. The 20 page story is a complete work and although you may be barred from downloading all 20 pages you can still read the entire work online.
Full download allows you to read the book when not connected to the internet. The first step is to create a "My EBSCOhost folder" account. This folder is linked to the library's database subscription and is only valid while you are affiliated with Vol State and while the library maintains an EBSCO subscription. Login to your My EBSCOhost folder, select Download for the desired book, and follow the instructions. For additional help read "Checking Out and Downloading EBSCO eBooks".
This page offers easy access to databases using the EBSCOhost interface and provides a few tips about using these resources effectively. It is not intended to be a comprehensive guide to the databases; it simply assists Vol State users with common questions. Use the "Help" link in for additional help.