About INTERNATIONAL resources
This INTERNATIONAL guide links you to resources from or about other nations and their culture. Listen to or learn other languages.
NOTE: If you need an international angle or view point for a specific discipline, i.e. sociology, music, etc., use the guide for that specific discipline.
On this page you will find
- Resources to help you learn another language
- Links to resources to help you discover world culture through databases, eBooks, and streaming videos
- Recommended databases to find articles on international topics
- Recommended resources to help you find information on the web from government, business, and other credible websites
Find articles on international topics in databases
Most library databases have articles on international topics. In many databases you will find magazines and journals published outside the United States. The following recommended databases were selected based on their content and purpose.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Global news collection with journals, newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes 108 Tennessee news sources.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Global issues can be found in the Human Rights, International Relations, International Trade & Development, and War & Conflict topics.
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Access to five US national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content updated by 8am each day. Archives start in the 1980s.
Find credible information on international topics online
The World Factbook, a free eBook published by the CIA, is a widely used reference source for information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
- World Fact Book (CIA) The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Following is an alphabetical list of websites from reputable businesses, government, and international agencies. These websites provide a variety of information on culture, health, business, and other topics.
- Business Culture Complexity IndexA league table and world heat map illustrating the potential complexity/ease of doing business in the top 50 economies of the world.
Commisceo Global Consultancy is UK based international consulting group - Country Guides to Culture, Customs and Etiquette (Commisceo-Global)Commisceo-Global's website has guides on more than 80 countries. Each country guide covers a number of key topics such as language, society, culture, food, beliefs, business practices and social etiquette.
- European Union (EU)Official website for the European Union. The site is available in multiple languages.
- U.S. Department of StateOversees international relations for the United States.
U.S. government website - United NationsFind information on economic, security, legal, and humanitarian issues on this international organization’s website.
- World Health Organization (WHO) statisticsGlobal health data from the World Health Organization (WHO)
- World StatisticsWorld Statistics gives free and easy access to data provided by International Organisations, such as the World Bank, the United Nations and Eurostat. Search by issue, not location.
Learn another language
These library databases offer language courses, streaming videos in foreign language, and opportunities to read in Spanish or Portuguese.
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window An online language-learning system with extensive courses and supplemental resources for over 100 languages, including English. Account required to use. Free for Tennessee residents. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Select Browse from the menu to find the collection of World Languages streaming videos on the culture, history, society, language and literature of people speaking Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish languages.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos This link opens in a new window Spanish language World Book encyclopedia NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Informe Academico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina Resources on Latin America in Spanish and Portuguese languages. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Discover world culture
This section has resources from the library and the web that explore world culture, including literature and festivals and holidays.
World Literature
Customs, Traditions, Holidays, and Festivals from around the World
These online library books give an overview of holidays and festivals celebrated around the world. Learn more customs and traditions in other cultures.
- Cultural Studies: Holidays Around the World (Credo Reference) reference source on holidays and other events includes more than 3,500 holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world.
- Customs and traditions (EBSCO eBooks) eBooks on international customs and traditions available in the database eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Religious Holidays & Calendars (Credo Reference) Source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions.
Culture through videos and documentaries
- Area Studies (Films on Demand) Area studies in Africa, Asia, the Pacific, and Latin America
- Rick Steves Classroom Europe Collection of short video clips selected from full-length episodes of Rick Steves’ Europe travel program. Clips cover a vast range of topics from across Europe and different historical periods. Create your own playlists. Clips are closed-captioned. Free
- World Music (Films on Demand) Explore music from Eastern Europe, India, East Asia, Middle East, and Africa
- Explore Subjects (Films on Demand) Video material grouped into every area of study
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
This International guide provides quick access to library resources and credible websites concerned with international cultures and issues. Images used on this guide are 1) available on the public domain, 2) created from a licensed resource, and/or 3) licensed under a Creative Commons license and used according to the terms in the license.