This guide links you to library and online resources to help you find information on careers, improve job skills, or start a business.The careers and job search section has the Occupational Outlook Handbook plus other relevant eBooks, databases, websites, and streaming videos to help you learn about career opportunities and how to get a job. Use the resources in the skills improvement & employment exams section for help with employment exams and improving job skills. For entrepreneurs go to start your own business to explore the resources available to help you.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a wide range of multidisciplinary topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowe-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new windowReference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts
Careers and job search
These online resources provide information on careers and offer resources to help with your job search, including preparing a resume.
Use an eBook
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics, this resource profiles various occupations: educational requirements, job expectations, employment outlook, salary projects, etc.
- Career and Job Search eBooks eBooks on career development and job search available in the database eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Resumes & Cover Letters eBooks eBooks on writing cover letters and creating resumes available in the database eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) .
Use a Database or Website to Learn about Career Opportunities
Use one of these specialized databases or credible websites to learn about careers and successful job searching techniques.
- Peterson's Career Prep (Gale Presents) This link opens in a new window Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in This resource is free for residents of Tennessee; however you do need to create an account to access and use this resource. Peterson's Career Prep is part of the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). On your next visit, you can use this account to get access to your saved Career Prep materials.
- Peterson’s Test and Career Prep (Gale Presents) This link opens in a new window Resource for career assessments, resume/cover letter creation and the advice for job seekers. Includes college/career practice tests and ebooks, school and scholarship searches. Users required to sign up for an account with a user name and password. The account is free for any Tennessee resident.
- Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Magazines and trade publications for researching a vocation, job searching, and maintaining a career. General career guides and specialized industry journals. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- CareerOneStopSource for career exploration, training, and jobs. U.S. Dept. of Labor website
Watch Streaming Videos on Career Topics
Videos available on career exploration, career fields, job search skills, and job success skills.
- Careers & Job Search (Films on Demand) Search videos on career exploration, career fields, job search skills, and job success skills. Closed-captioned with transcripts.
Resume Writing Tool
The TEL database Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) has a resume writing tool – VisualCV Resume Creator – that provides
- 18 default templates for creating resumes
- various editing options, including the ability to upload existing resumes
- a cover letter editor, which includes three sample templates
- a website editor so users can quickly create a website for their resume to share with potential employers
- an external library of 5,000 resume examples across varied industries
Create your account in TERC to use this resume tool and then
- Navigate to the College Prep menu
- Choose Resume Writing from the dropdown menu
- Choose VisualCV Resume Creator
- Create a new resume or import from a template
- Peterson’s Test and Career Prep (Gale Presents) This link opens in a new window Resource for career assessments, resume/cover letter creation and the advice for job seekers. Includes college/career practice tests and ebooks, school and scholarship searches. Users required to sign up for an account with a user name and password. The account is free for any Tennessee resident.
Skills Improvement and Employment Exams
- Technology Tutorials (Free)Intimidated by computers? New to email or the web? Want to stay safe online or understand how your operating system works? This collection of technology tutorials can help improve your skills.
Peterson's Test and Career Prep has resources for job and college success. Improve your math, English, and Microsoft Office skills or take a practice employment exam. Employment exams are available for many career fields including firefighting, law enforcement, military, nursing, and teaching. Resource is provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) and is free for residents of Tennessee. Create your account to get started today.
- Peterson’s Test and Career Prep (Gale Presents) This link opens in a new windowGo to the Career center to practice for a career related exam, explore career options, or learn how to create a resume
Start your own business
Here are a few resources to help as you explore the idea of starting your own business. The databases are specific to small business owners and entrepreneurs. The websites are state and national government agencies that help small businesses. These websites will connect you with other resources.
Small Business Databases
- Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window Covers all major areas of starting and operating a business. Includes a "How To" menu for the most frequently asked new business questions. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Journals and magazines for both business school students and entrepreneurs. Database insights, tips, strategies and success stories. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Websites for small businesses
- Business Enterprise Resource Office (BERO)Information and resources to support small businesses, microenterprises and entrepreneurs.
Tennessee state government website - Small Business Administration (SBA)U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is an independent agency of the federal government. Its mission is to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns.
US government website
Division for Workforce and Economic Development @ Vol State
Division for Workforce and Economic Development @ Vol StatePrograms and services are available for a broad range of personal, professional, and workforce development needs of the local community and area business and industry. The division is organized into four departments: workforce development, small business development, healthcare training, and non-credit online courses.
Learn more about the programs and services of each department by visiting the Division for Workforce and Economic Development's website.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
The purpose of this guide is to link users to credible resources on career-related topics for College class assignments and job searches.
Images used on this guide are 1) available on the public domain, 2) created from a licensed resource, and/or 3) licensed under a Creative Commons license and used according to the terms in the license.