This is the "eBooks intro" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks   Tags: books, ebooks, encyclopedias, reference, research  

info on Vol State eBook collections and free downloadable eBooks
Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.volstate.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

eBooks intro Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Is it a real book?

Digital books (AKA electronic books or eBooks) are just another format type like large-print.

Unless stated assume the book is available in print format. Books that are only available digitally and were not originally published in a print format are typically identified as such. This is important when creating a citation for a book in a research paper or essay. 

 

How do I use these eBook collections?

Use Vol State eBooks when you are connected to the Internet and logged in via the Vol State access link. The EBSCOhost eBook collection allows some books to be downloaded.

Each collection is unique and operates differently. Look for the help link. 

Common features: use the standard book features such as Table of Contents and Index to find information in an eBook

Unique features: eBooks are searchable for the entire collection or within each book. Look for a search box or search icon.

 

How do I find ebooks?

Log in

Access and use of eBooks is restricted to the Vol State community. On the Vol State login page that appears after clicking on a database link use your MyVolState ID and password.

Link locations 

LibGuides: Access links available on eBook collections tab  or from subject libguides, such as Music, which recommend specific eBooks and collections.

Website: The library's Resources page has links for eBooks and eReference books

Catalog

eBook titles frequently appear in the list of results found when searching the library catalog. You can access these books from the catalog link but this is not the best method. The best way to use an eBook found in the catalog is to identify the eBook collection, go to the collection via the Resources page or this libguide, and use the book from within the collection.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip