This is the "Periodicals" page of the "Periodicals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Periodicals   Tags: articles, journals, magazines, newspapers, periodicals, research  

find articles in magazines, newspapers, and journals
Last Updated: May 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.volstate.edu/periodicals Print Guide RSS Updates

Periodicals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Create a citation

Each periodical type has a different citation type.

Identify the periodical type before creating the citation.

Find periodicals

A library database is your best source for periodical articles.

A few periodicals are available in print and microfilm formats in the Library.

  • Databases (by title)
    alphabetical list of databases; some databases have no periodicals or lack all types.
  • Databases (by topic)
    discover which database is useful for a particular subject
  • Online Periodical List
    search by periodical title to discover which database has full-text articles from that periodical
  • Library Catalog
    search for periodicals available in print or microform in Thigpen Library
 

What is a periodical?

Periodical types are
newspapers (including news wires)
magazines
journals
 
Based on content and audience periodicals are categorized as 
Popular
newspapers
magazines
Scholarly
journals 
 
Popular periodicals are further categorized as
popular
sensational
 

Use journals or substantive / serious popular periodicals in your research.

 

Use periodicals in your research

Review these sections in the IRIS Explore Sources module to learn where to find information. 

  • Information types
  • Magazines and journals

In the IRIS Find Information module these modules teach you how to find credible and relevant articles.

  • Periodical Indexes
  • Boolean operators
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip