Research Guides: Art / Visual Arts: Resources for the Visual Arts

Databases

Art Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A foundational art research database offering full-text art journals. It encompasses fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture.
Art Index Retrospective (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A historical digital archive that contains citations only (no full-text articles) from art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, 1929 -1984. This is an archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it indexes hundreds of publications, plus thousands of book reviews, interviews, anthologies and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. ArtSTOR is included in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history. Research Library is updated daily with new content and includes a deep backfile, providing users with deeper historical context. A key multidisciplinary resource, Research Library is built on renowned ProQuest vocabulary and indexing and brings all of these resources together through a single user-friendly interface.

eBooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.

Credo Reference is a collection of reference resources. Links are provided to articles in other library databases for some topics.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides, that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps. Use the Credo collection for background research and discover key concepts and a mind map on your topic.
Database help: Credo Reference

Metropolitan Museum of Art Publications Full-text online books from MetPublications.
Solomon R Guggenheim Museum: Art eBook Collection A library of modern and historic art books from the Guggenheim museum. Available to read online or download. Free in collaboration with the Internet Archive.

About ART resources

Find information on the VISUAL ARTS with these resources. Choose from databases (for articles & images), streaming videos, and eBooks.

Images of Art Works from Curated Collections

Free Images from Museums
Identify hundreds of thousands of free images from world-renowned museums, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Have to do a basic search to start - and then apply FILTERS for "Producers" to limit to museums.
Guggenheim's Collection Online
Features more than 1700 artworks by more than 625 artists in a searchable database.
The British Library's Flickr Albums
1,023,714 photos organized by topic.
Open Culture
A "meta-list" of free works of art online with links to museum collections.
Louvre Museum Atlas Database
The database covers all the works exhibited in the museum - some 30,000 items. Internet users, like museum visitors, will find the usual explanatory texts that accompany museum exhibits, compiled under the authority of the museum curators.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
Access images from the Met's collections.
Additional resources: https://www.metmuseum.org/art/online-features