Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Intro to research
There are many resources available in the library and online on psychology topics. The best resource depends upon your information need and assignment. This guide page links you to scholarly journals to find research articles, tells you how to find books, eBooks, and DSM 5, and recommends some credible web sites.
Psychology: Find research articles
Find full-text research articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals by using the library's online databases and journal subscriptions.
PsycARTICLES is highly recommended when selecting a database to use within the field of psychology.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage from 1894 to present.
EBSCOhost database collection
Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines in the Social Sciences.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General interest periodical database. Journals available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
American Journal of Psychology This link opens in a new window
AJP explores the science of the mind and behavior, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books.
Psychiatry journals are often included in medical databases. If you do not find what you need in one of the recommended databases for psychology in this guide use the Health Sciences guide to find medical databases.
Ask a Librarian
Stop by the ASK desk at your campus library
Psychology: Books and eBooks
Books are a good resource for researching psychology theories, a history of psychology, or prominent psychologists. Thigpen Library has both print books and eBooks to support psychology classes.
Search "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to find books available in Thigpen Library. Or use eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) to find an eBook.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Want to browse the library collection? Thigpen Library arranges books on the shelves according to the Library of Congress classification system. You will find psychology books in the BF section and psychiatry books in the medical area under RC 435-471.
Psychology: Web Resources
Professional organizations in psychology provide resources for their members and the general public.