Skip to main content

Database Help: Literature Resource Center

get help with library databases

What's on this Literature Resource Center page?

About Literature Resource Center tells you about this database provided by Thigpen Library.

Find links to Literature Resource Center and other Gale literary resources in Search Literature Resource Center.

Citing information from Literature Resource Center gives you a few tips on creating a better citation for information found in this resource. Learn how to find the permanent link for articles and reference entries found in a Gale database.

Avoid common mistakes and become more efficient with Tips for using Literature Resource Center.

About Literature Resource Center

Logo for Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is a reference database from Gale. Use this database to research global literature from antiquity to the modern era.  The database has information from scholarly journals, literary magazines, reference books, and author interviews. Your searches on world literature topics will find full-text scholarly articles, critical essays, full-text contemporary poems, biographical essays, plot summaries, and images.

Search Literature Resource Center

Citing information found in Literature Resource Center

Use Literature Resource Center's Citation Tools for a citation in APA, MLA, or Chicago Style. You can copy and paste the citation. Export options include sending it to your OneDrive or Google Drive account or to a citation tool like NoodleTools or Easy Bib.

General information for creating your own citation

Where did you find it?  in the subscription database Literature Resource Center

What is it?  it depends since there are different information types in this database; you may have found a journal article or a reference entry

Which URL? Use the permalink. In Literature Resource Center the permalink is called Bookmark URL.

screenshot from Gale Literature Resource Center showing pop-up for Bookmark

Tips for using Literature Resource Center

Search Options

The search option Person - by or about finds the person who wrote the literary work.

Name of Work is the search option to find articles on a particular literary work.

screenshot from Gale Literature Resource Center showing search box options

Special Features

Make notes on and highlight sections of articles then download the articles directly to your OneDrive or Google Drive account.

Use the Listen feature to have an article converted from text to speech and read aloud. You can download a MP3 audio file to listen later.

Help

Use the Help and Tips links in Literature Resource Center for search tips or help with the page.