Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thigpen Library Research Guides

NoodleTools Guide: Beyond the Basics

Learn how to create an account and then use NoodleTools to create citations, Works Cited page, and annotated bibliographies.

On this page you will find resources and information to help you use the Annotated Bibliography features in NoodleTools.

Correctly citing the information within your paper can be tricky but using the available "In-text reference" or "Footnote format" options make the task easier.

Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Options in NoodleTools allow you to create annotations for a source and hide or show the annotations as needed.

Allowing NoodleTools to manage your annotations and format your Works Cited page is a time saver and can reduce formatting errors.

Adding / Editing Annotations

Each source provides you a field (text box) to add annotations about the source. You do not need to duplicate the source since you can switch between viewing and hiding the annotation.

Select "Edit annotation" from the Options menu for your source to go directly to the annotation.

Viewing Annotations

Your annotations only show on the source list or your Works Cited page when you select "Citations and annotations" as a formatting option.

From the Sources page

  • click the Print/Export button
  • select "Formatting Options..."

The choices available on the  "Formatting options" pop-up window differ based on the project's Citation Style.

  • The "Include" section shows the current option selected
    • "Citations and annotations" or
    • "Citations only (no annotations)."
  • Click the link to change the option.

Formatting Options for Printing an Annotated Bibliography (MLA)

Once you have selected "Citations and annotation" under "Formatting Options" you may need to change the Annotation Spacing.

  • Short annotations in MLA use  "Annotation follows citations on the same line (no extra space)"
  • Longer annotations require "Annotation starts on a new line." This is option is typically used.

NoodleTools formatting options menu for MLA

MLA and APA: Parenthetical (In-text) reference

Citations are used both with your Works Cited page and  to cite the information within your paper. NoodleTools helps with both.

Parenthetical (In-Text) references are used with MLA and APA. NoodleTools provides an in-text reference for each citation on your Sources list.

To view the In-Text reference for MLA or APA

  • Click the Options button associated with the Source you are citing.
  • Select "In-text reference" from the menu.

NoodleTools- Sources Options menu for a source

The pop-up "In-text Reference" window appears with information specific to the selected source.

NoodleTools - MLA Parenthetical Reference page

Chicago style Footnote

Chicago style has two methods for documenting sources: Author-Date and Notes-Bibliography

NoodleTools can assist with the Notes-Bibliography method which uses footnotes for citations instead of in-text references.

To view the Chicago style Footnote:

  • Click the Options button associated with the Source you are citing
  • Select "Footnote format" from the menu*
  • A pop-up window with the footnote for your source appears.

NoodleTools Sources Footnote format pop-up

*You only see the option for "Footnote format" if your project is using Chicago style.