Skip to main content Thigpen Library Research Guides

Videos: Kanopy

Information on streaming videos and DVDs available to the Vol State community..

What is Kanopy?

Kanopy logo

Kanopy is a collection of streaming videos. In this collection you will find full-length documentaries, Criterion collection movies, and foreign films.

  This streaming service does not provide unlimited free viewing like our other streaming collections. Watching a video triggers an annual license fee. Please check the library's DVD collection or another streaming collection before using Kanopy.

Who can use Kanopy?

This database is available on-campus and off-campus to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff

Link / Embed a video

Kanopy provides users with three options to share or embed a film. Select the "Share/Embed" button associated with the video these options.

When connecting to view a video from off-campus, users will be redirected to a Thigpen Library login page for authentication before they can watch the film.

Embed / Link Issues

Kanopy support reports that the error message  "requestMediaKeySystemAccess is disabled by feature policy" indicates the the browser does not support DRM-protection on the embedded film. To fix this issue – verify that your browser is up-to-date, clear the browser cache, and ensure that protection playback is enabled. In Chrome, you can check the protection playback by going to "chrome://settings/content".

Personal Accounts in Kanopy

You may see a "Create Your Account " page after clicking our database link. This page urges you to create a Kanopy account, but you are not required to have a Kanopy account to watch the Kanopy videos in the library's subscription. I fyou want an account be sure to read the terms and privacy policy very carefully.

To go to the videos without creating an account, click the "skip" button - you may need to scroll to find the button.

Kanopy licenses

Vol State purchases one-year licenses to Kanopy videos needed to support academics. Email librarian@volstate.edu with questions about Kanopy licenses.

Video accessibility

  The majority of videos are closed-captioned. Enable the closed-captions with the CC icon.

Transcripts do not automatically appear. To access the dynamic transcript click on More and select Transcript while the video is playing. The transcript will appear below the video..

Contact a Librarian if you discover an accessibility issue with a video.

Kanopy: Performance Rights

Viewing films in a group forum is permitted for all films for classroom viewings and most films for non-classroom group settings as long as the viewing is by authorized viewers and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening). Please contact Kanopy for confirmation confirm that the film is available for a showing to a group forum.

Get Online Help with Kanopy

Use Kanopy Help: For Viewers to find answers to technical questions and to learn how to create a personal user profile and watchlist.