There are many resources available in the library and online on psychology topics. The best resource depends upon your information need and assignment. This guide page links you to scholarly journals to find research articles, tells you how to find books, eBooks, and DSM 5, and recommends some credible web sites.
Psychology: Find research articles
Find full-text research articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals by using the library's online journal subscriptions and databases.
Online Journals
- American Journal of Psychology This link opens in a new windowAJP explores the science of the mind and behavior, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books.
Databases
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsychology journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage from 1894 to present.
EBSCOhost database collection
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowTo find psychology research articles search in the Social Sciences subject area and limit to scholarly journals.
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in the Social Sciences.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowUse Advanced Search to limit your search to journals in the Psychology discipline. CAUTION: JSTOR does not always have the most current journals.
Medical Databases
Psychiatry journals are often included in medical databases. If you do not find what you need in one of the recommended databases in this guide use the Health Sciences guide to find medical databases.
Psychology: Books and eBooks
Books are a good resource for researching psychology theories, a history of psychology, or prominent psychologists. Thigpen Library has both print books and eBooks to support psychology classes.
Search "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to find books available in Thigpen Library. Or use eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) to find an eBook.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for items on the shelf in one of Vol State campus libraries
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Want to browse the library collection? Thigpen Library arranges books on the shelves according to the Library of Congress classification system. You will find psychology books in the BF section and psychiatry books in the medical area under RC 435-471.
DSM-5
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D54ISBN: 9780890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-22Library Use Only. Available at Gallatin, Livingston, and Springfield libraries
Psychology: Web Resources
Statistics
- Data & Publications-Mental Health (CDC)Statistics on access to mental health services and mental illness.
CDC.gov - National Institute of Mental HealthFind statistics to understand the scope of mental illnesses and their treatment.
Professional Organizations
Professional organizations in psychology provide resources for their members and the general public.
- American Psychological Association (APA)Professional organization.
- Tennessee Psychological AssociationLinks of interest on psychology topics from this professional organization.
