Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thigpen Library Research Guides

Psychology: APA Style

Guide to information resources suitable for psychology classes.

 This guide page links you to resources and information to help you with your Vol State assignments that require you to use American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. Resources on this page, available both online and in print in the library, offer self-help assistance for using APA style to format your paper and create citations for use in your bibliography.

This page provides you with links to online resources, print copy of APA Publication Manual in the library, tips on using the Bedford Handbook, examples of formatting an APA paper, and a link to NoodleTools, an online citation management tool.

APA style: online resources

These free online resources (websites) are recommended resources to help you learn more about APA style. Find answers to your general questions.

APA style: library resources

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the "official" guide to APA style. It is available in print format at all Vol State libraries.

Bedford Handbook: APA style

The Bedford Handbook includes information on writing in APA Style. In the 9th edition of the Handbook, the APA Style section starts in Chapter 58. The chapter number may vary depending on what edition you have. Included are documentation style, paper format and more.

APA style: formatting the paper

The Bedford Handbook has sample pages from an APA paper  to help you with formatting. Or use one of these links for an online example.

APA style with NoodleTools

Select APA Style for your project in NoodleTools for a properly formatted References list and in-text citations. An Annotated Bibliography can also be created with NoodleTools.

NoodleTools only provides help with citations, not the paper itself. NOTE: As of May 14, 2020 NoodleTools was formatting citations based on 6th edition, not the updated 7th edition.

The purpose of this guide is to provide information about Vol State resources and free online resources available to help students with the basics of using APA style for their research papers and essays.