Research Guides: Sociology: Research

Academic Journals

Search for academic and experimental research articles in these online journal subscriptions and library databases.

American Journal of Sociology (AJS) This link opens in a new window
Established in 1895 as the first US scholarly journal in its field, the American Journal of Sociology (AJS) presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. AJS strives to speak to the general sociology reader and is open to contributions from across the social sciences—sociology, political science, economics, history, anthropology, and statistics—that seriously engage the sociological literature to forge new ways of understanding the social.

Frequency: 6 issues/year
ISSN: 0002-9602
E-ISSN: 1537-5390
Social Problems This link opens in a new window
A quarterly journal that covers an extensive array of complex social concerns from race and gender to labor relations to environmental issues and human rights. Official publication of The Society for the Study of Social Problems
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. ArtSTOR is included in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history. Research Library is updated daily with new content and includes a deep backfile, providing users with deeper historical context. A key multidisciplinary resource, Research Library is built on renowned ProQuest vocabulary and indexing and brings all of these resources together through a single user-friendly interface.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles. The database of full-text peer-reviewed articles is published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals. APA’s definitive standards for writing and publishing psychological research enables authors to deliver rigorously vetted content that meets the highest standards of quality across the spectrum of psychology.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals. Provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.

Books

To find books in the library, see a reference librarian or library staff member or use Pioneer Search.

Pioneer Search
One search gets you results from the library catalog and many of the library's online resources. Access to online resources is limited to authorized users

Sociology books can be found in the (H) section of the library stacks:

HM: Sociology
HQ: Family, Marriage, Women
HS: Societies, Clubs
HT: Communities, classes, and races
HV: Social pathology, social and public welfare, Criminology

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.

Professional Organizations

American Sociological Association
Professional organization.
Mid-South Sociological Association
Professional organization for sociologists in the Mid-South region of the United State.
Society for the Study of Social Problems
Professional organization.

Statistics & Data

Statistics and data can be found on these websites and databases. All of these resources are free and available to the public.

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Data and research on religions, primarily American. Pennsylvania State University.
Data and Statistics about the United States
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Data.gov
Home of the U.S. government's open data. On this site are data, tools, and resources from federal agencies.
UNdata
Portal to statistical databases produced by various UN agencies. United Nations
World Factbook (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)