Academic Journals
Search for academic and experimental research articles in these online journal subscriptions and library databases.
- American Journal of Sociology This link opens in a new window
Read the latest journal issue of American Journal of Sociology or search the archives
- Social Problems This link opens in a new windowA quarterly journal that covers an extensive array of complex social concerns from race and gender to labor relations to environmental issues and human rights. Official publication of The Society for the Study of Social Problems
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage from 1894 to present.
EBSCOhost database collection
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in the Social Sciences.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
Books
To find books in the library, see a reference librarian or library staff member or use Pioneer Search.
- Pioneer Search
One search gets you results from the library catalog and many of the library's online resources. Access to online resources is limited to authorized users
Sociology books can be found in the (H) section of the library stacks:
- HM: Sociology
- HQ: Family, Marriage, Women
- HS: Societies, Clubs
- HT: Communities, classes, and races
- HV: Social pathology, social and public welfare, Criminology
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Professional Organizations
- American Sociological AssociationProfessional organization.
- Mid-South Sociological AssociationProfessional organization for sociologists in the Mid-South region of the United State.
- Society for the Study of Social ProblemsProfessional organization.
Statistics & Data
Statistics and data can be found on these websites and databases. All of these resources are free and available to the public.
- American National Election Studies (ANES)Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)Data and research on religions, primarily American. Pennsylvania State University.
- Data and Statistics about the United StatesFind data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- Data.govHome of the U.S. government's open data. On this site are data, tools, and resources from federal agencies.
- UNdataPortal to statistical databases produced by various UN agencies. United Nations
- World Factbook (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
