Recommended Databases for Finding Articles & More
- Pioneer Search
One search gets you results from the library catalog and many of the library's online resources. Access to online resources is limited to authorized users
- American Journal of Veterinary Research (AJVR) This link opens in a new window
The mission of AJVR is to disseminate throughout the world the highest-impact, rigorously reviewed veterinary science research across the spectrum of species, using an online-only, open access format for maximum accessibility.
- EBSCOhost Database Collection This link opens in a new window
SELECT ALL databases to search at once; highly recommended individual databases are Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, CINAHL, and General Science Full Text. - Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search multiple Gale databases with one search.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee.
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history. Research Library is updated daily with new content and includes a deep backfile, providing users with deeper historical context. A key multidisciplinary resource, Research Library is built on renowned ProQuest vocabulary and indexing and brings all of these resources together through a single user-friendly interface.
CSE (Scientific Style) Help
Reputable Online Sources
- AKC (American Kennel Club)Founded in 1884, the not-for-profit AKC is the recognized and trusted expert in breed, health, and training information for all dogs
- AVMA Journals OnlineOnline access to American Journal of Veterinary Research and Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association
- DVM360 Magazinedvm360.com is the official website for the renowned veterinary publication dvm360® magazine
- EBVM ToolkitThe EBVM Toolkit is designed to help busy veterinary practitioners answer a clinical question with the best available evidence
- PICO.vetPICO.vet is designed to help veterinary clinicians, researchers, librarians and others build a well-structured and focused clinical question that interactively searches the biomedical literature.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
eBooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Magazines/Journals @ Thigpen Library
The titles listed below are available in PRINT from Thigpen Library-Gallatin (2nd floor periodicals).
- AVMA Journals Online (AJVR and JAVMA)
The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) online database offers access to both American Journal of Veterinary Research (AJVR) and Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA). After clicking the above link, choose the particular Journal you'd like to explore from the tabs at the top of the page. In addition, Thigpen Library Gallatin campus offers JAVMA in print, found on the second floor in our print Journals collection.
The mission of JAVMA is to advance and promote the science and art of veterinary medicine while upholding world-class standards in peer-reviewed veterinary medical scientific publications. The mission of the AJVR is to publish, in a timely manner, peer-reviewed reports of the highest-quality research that has the clear potential to enhance the health, welfare, and performance of animals and humans. - Laboratory Animals
The international journal of laboratory animal science, technology, welfare and medicine, Laboratory Animals publishes peer-reviewed original papers and reviews on all aspects of the care of animals in research. Laboratory Animals Journal is available through the Thigpen Library online database at the above link.
Get Help
General Library Questions
Visit the ASK desk at your campus
Call 615-230-3400
Email circulation@volstate.edu
Research Assistance
ASK a Librarian at your campus
Email librarian@volstate.edu
Schedule an Appointment
Chat Live with a Librarian 24/7
