Streaming videos available thru the library
Four streaming video collections are available. Alexander Street Press and Films on Demand are multidisciplinary collections. The BBC Shakespeare Plays are available through Ambrose Digital. Allied Health and Health videos are accessible via INTELECOM Online Resource Network.
Access links and information on these streaming video collections is below. Questions? Use the "Help with streaming video" tab.
Videos in these collections are primarily streamed in the Flash format which requires a browser plug-in. If you experience problems switch to another browser or update Adobe Flash on your computer's browsers. Flash videos are not compatible with iPads and iPhones.
Alexander Street Press
Content: over 15,000 clips and full-length Flash-based streaming videos
Subjects: American History, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Black Studies, Business & Economics, Classical Music, Counseling & Therapy, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Current Affairs, Dance, Education, Ethnic Studies, Ethnography, Film Studies, Gay & Lesbian Studies, Health, Humanities, Opera, Psychology, Rehabilitation Therapy, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Sports Medicine and Exercise Science, Theatre, Women's & Gender Studies, World History, and World Language & Literature
Description: Award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage from BBC, PBS, CBS, Documentary Educational Resources, California Newsreel, Opus Arte, Cinema Guild, Psychotherapy.net, Microtraining Associates, Filmakers Library, Zeitgeist, First Run Features, and more.
Access link: VAST: Academic Video Online
Database name for citation: VAST: Academic Video Online
Video format: Flash
- Adobe Flash Player 9.0 or higher (browser plug-in)
- Adobe Reader for PDF files
Content: close-captioned videos of plays
Subjects: Shakespeare tragedies and comedies
Description: Flash-based videos of 37 BBC Shakespeare Plays created for BBC television from 1978-1985. Plays are viewable in their entirety or by act. Includes performances by Sir John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Helen Mirren, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York, Alan Richman, John Cleese and Derek Jacobi.
Access link: The BBC Shakespeare Plays
Database name for citation: Ambrose Video
Video format: Flash
- Flash Browser Plug-In (switch browsers if you encounter a problem)
- Videos are streamed at three levels of quality based on your internet connection speed. The higher the internet connection, the better quality the file.
Films on Demand
Content: full-length close-captioned streaming videos in Flash and HTML5 formats
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communications, Computers & Technology, Criminal Justice, Earth Science, Education, English & Language Arts, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and World Languages.
Description: Videos from Ken Burns, BBC, Frontline, History, NOVA, Modern Marvels, Bill Moyers, PBS, TED, NBC News, American Experience, ABC Nightline, Cambridge Educational, and more.
Access link: Master Academic Collection
Database name for citation: Films on Demand
Video format: Flash & HTML 5
- Adobe Flash player 10.0 & higher
- minimum internet connectivity: 380 kbps DSL, 500 kbps Cable Modem
- more details on technical requirements available
INTELECOM Online Resources Network
Content: video-clip database
Subjects: Health & Allied Health
Description: Critical health issues
Database name for citation: INTELECOM Online Resources Network
Video format: Adobe Flash
- Adobe Flash browser plug-in for your browser (switch browsers if you encounter a problem)
- High speed internet connection such as DSL or cable modem
- Works on PC or Mac but not compatible with iPhone or iPad