Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online: Premium is a multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos in a subscription database from Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company.
Who can use Academic Video Online?
This database of streaming videos is available to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff. It can be used both on and off campus.
How do I find a video?
There are several ways to find videos from this database: 1) go direct to the database from either the A-Z Database list or the link below, 2) do a multi-search in a ProQuest database by adding Academic Video Online to the databases selected, or 3) use Pioneer Search, the multi-search box on the library's home page.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
BBC Shakespeare Plays
BBC Shakespeare Plays, from Ambrose Digital, is a video collection of 37 Shakespeare plays created for BBC television from 1978-1985. Performers include Sir John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Helen Mirren, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York, Alan Richman, John Cleese and Derek Jacobi.
Who can use BBC Shakespeare Plays?
This streaming video database is available on-campus and off-campus to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. 37 Shakespeare plays created for BBC television 1978-1985.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a subscription database of streaming videos from Infobase Learning. This multidisciplinary collection has over 100,000 titles of full-length videos from Ken Burns, BBC, Frontline, History, NOVA, Modern Marvels, Bill Moyers, PBS, TED, NBC News, American Experience, ABC Nightline, Cambridge Educational, and many more prominent producers and publishers.
Who can use Films on Demand ?
Videos in this collection are available for viewing both on-campus and off-campus for current Vol State students, faculty, and staff.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Kanopy
Kanopy is a collection of streaming videos. In this collection you will find full-length documentaries, Criterion collection movies, and foreign films.
This streaming service does not provide unlimited free viewing like our other streaming collections. Watching a video triggers an annual license fee. Please check the library's DVD collection or another streaming collection before using Kanopy.
Who can use Kanopy?
This database is available on-campus and off-campus to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Includes documentaries and feature films. Most videos are closed-captioned.
Note: You may see a "Create Your Account" page that implies you need to create a Kanopy account. You do NOT need a Kanopy account to watch the videos. Click the "skip" button - you may need to scroll to find the button - to go to the videos.