Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a comprehensive database of multidisciplinary subjects for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Databases for Criminal Justice Topics
This list of library databases are ones that focus specifically on criminal justice or law enforcement topics or were requested by faculty to include as a recommended resource.
- Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines on criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journals, trade publications, and magazines in the legal field.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in the Social Sciences.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
This collection of videos from Films on Demand are specific to the Criminal Justice Discipline.
- Criminal Justice & Law Collection (Films on Demand)
Streaming videos on criminal investigation, criminal justice system, criminology, and legal studies
Print Books
You can use Pioneer Search to find books on the shelf. Select "limit your results" to "in the library" to find only physical items on your topic.
If you want to visit and browse the shelves, you will find Criminology books in the HV section in Thigpen Library in Gallatin.
You can request that available books be sent to the campus library of your choice for your convenient pickup. Use the "My Library Card" feature in Pioneer Search.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for items on the shelf in one of Vol State campus libraries
Web-based Resources
These recommended websites provide information and access to a variety of information sources on criminal justice topics. The websites were selected because they provide free, public access to the majority of information on their site.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)Data on crime and justice at all levels of government in the United States.
Government website. U.S. Department of Justice - National Criminal Justice Reference Services (NCJRS)Information on a variety of criminal justice topics.
Government website. U.S. Department of Justice - Oyez ProjectMultimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States. Over 7,000 hours of Supreme Court audio dating back to 1955.
Audio archive project of IIT-Chicago-Kent College of Law - MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun ViolenceA small collection of full-text articles and eBooks about gun violence from Project Muse.
Career Resources
Interested in a career in Law Enforcement? Check out these resources.
- Law Enforcement CareersOnline practice tests and books Part of the Testing & Education Resource Center
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics, this resource profiles various occupations: educational requirements, job expectations, employment outlook, salary projects, etc.
