Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Legal Topics

Find information on LEGAL topics with these recommended resources featuring legislation, regulations, laws, and statutes, primarily in Tennessee.

Legal Codes (free online versions)

Legal codes are a code of laws adopted by a state or nation. These links are to reputable government or government recommended sites. These sites while reputable may not be deemed the "official" version of the code.

Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA) LexisNexis provides free public access to TCA in a version called Tennessee Code Unannotated. Tennessee government websites link to this free version.
United States Code (USC) This site contains virtual main editions of the U.S. Code (USC). The USC is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Access provided by govinfo, a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Law Databases in the Library

The emphasis of these library subscription databases is the law. You may find periodicals, both magazines and journals, on legal topics in other library databases.

HeinOnline Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window
Collection of relevant periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, US Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other materials on the topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journals, trade publications, and magazines in the legal field.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile

Tennessee Legal Information Online

These public legal resources are Tennessee government websites with information on legislation, rules, regulations, and the court system in Tennessee.

Tennessee Rules & Regulations
Official compilation of "Rules and Regulations" for the State of Tennessee. Maintained by the Tennessee Secretary of State. Government website
TN General Assembly | Legislation
Search legislation and track bills in the Tennessee General Assembly (Legislature)
TN Courts | Self Help Center
Find information about the court system, find an attorney and locate other resources that might help you represent yourself in some legal matters. A service of the Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts (TNCOURTS.gov).

Commercial Websites - See Disclaimer

Tennessee Law | FindLaw
Collection of legal information to assist the public in understanding the law and finding quality legal help. Commercial website from Thomson Reuters.

Disclaimer

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites. Such links are only for the convenience of the reader, user or browser; the Thigpen Library and Volunteer State Community College do not recommend or endorse the contents of the third-party sites.

Readers of this website should contact their attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular legal matter. No reader, user, or browser of this site should act or refrain from acting on the basis of information on this site without first seeking legal advice from counsel in the relevant jurisdiction. Only your individual attorney can provide assurances that the information contained herein – and your interpretation of it – is applicable or appropriate to your particular situation. All liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the contents of this site are hereby expressly disclaimed. The content on this posting is provided "as is;" no representations are made that the content is error-free.

Adapted from the American Bar Association, June 12 2023