Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

Collections of Resources

A few of the larger repositories of OER materials and search engines dedicated to OER. The list is by not comprehensive and is presented alphabetically. Use other resources tabs to find additional suggestions.

Repositories

Tennessee Open Education Hub
The Tennessee Open Education Hub brings together the intellectual and creative power of faculty throughout the state, providing a place to build and share resources with the common goal of improving student learning outcomes.
MERLOT Collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.
OER Commons OER Commons is both a digital public library of OER and a collaboration platform. Discover OER materials on a variety of subjects and education levels.

Search Engines

Mason OER Metafinder Federated search of several OER repositories. George Mason University
OASIS OER search engine that allows for users to search by subject or by course material type SUNY Geneseo

Find OER resources by subject / discipline in guides created by other academic libraries.

Discipline Specific OER (NW Michigan) OER guide page from Northwestern Michigan College
OER by Discipline (Portland) subpages on the OER guide from Portland State University library
OER by Discipline Directory BCcampus Open Education
OER Collections & Tools by Subject (Rhode Island) guide from Rhode Island College - James P Adams Library

Guides from other academic libraries for additional information and resources related to OER.

Open Educational Resources (APSU) Austin Peay State University library guide
Open Educational Resources (Austin CC) Austin Community College library guide
Open Educational Resources (ETSU) East Tennessee State University library guide
Open Educational Resources (OER) Guide (LBCC) Linn-Benton Community College library
Open Educational Resources (Mines) Colorado School of Mines - Arthur Lakes Library guide
Open Educational Resources (MTSU) MTSU JEWLScholar OER info

These Higher Education organizations link you to online OER resources. You can expect duplication of resources.

Big List of Resources - OER (Pitt) Categorized list of resources University of Pittsburg.
Educause: Open Educational Resources Collection of websites with OER resources
Open Educational Resources (Yale) OER resources Yale Pooruv Center for Teaching & Learning
Open Educational Resources - Ivy Tech A repository of resources and information on using OERs. Ivy Tech Community College

Collections and publishers of OER and Open textbooks.

NOTE: In the recommended "Collections with Resources" you may also find OER textbooks along with other course materials.

Find books in the public domain and published as Open Access. Thigpen Library's JSTOR database provides access to the JSTOR Open Access Book collection.

NOTE: Open Access books are not OER but are affordable learning materials.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books DOAB's aim is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access .
epubBooks Curated collection of English language public domain books. Free access but account required. Available as EPUB and Kindle MOBI books without DRM protection. Can be read on phones, tablets, and eReader devices, including Android, Apple, Amazon Kindle, etc.
Project Gutenberg Literature collection. Books are older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Read online or download.

Other Open Resources

Large collections of digital materials. Permissions for reuse vary.

Digital Public Library Materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. Focus on US history and culture
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Find high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the STEM disciplines. NSLD links you to web-based educational resources held on their provider's sites. Most resources adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted or may have an associated cost (these exceptions are indicated in the full record of the resource).

* A digital library (also called digital repository or digital collection) is an online database of digital objects. It may include text, still images, audio, video, digital documents, or other digital media formats.

SOURCE: "Digital Library" article on Wikipedia. Accessed 12/22/2020

Image search tools

CC Search Use this search tool to find openly licensed and public domain works. Searches more than 300 million images and aggregates the results into a single catalog and facilitates reuse of images.
Copyright Free and Creative Commons Images Guide from Monash University [Victoria, Australia] library has an extensive list of sites. Lists by image type and subjects.

Image collections

Getty Open Content Program All images of public domain artworks in the Getty’s collections. Roughly 4,600 high-resolution images of the Museum’s collection free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery "NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more." Some of the images are subject to Terms and Conditions.
Smithsonian Open Access Download, share, and reuse images from the Smithsonian’s collections. Images and data from the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
U.S. Government Photos and Images Search the U.S. government site for photos that are in the public domain or, as U.S. government property, that may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. Carefully read disclaimers before using these images.

Open Access journals and research repositories

Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
SSRN eLibrary SSRN is an open-access working paper repository. Research in a variety of disciplines. Specialized research networks available.

Sites with videos available for reuse

Moving Image Archive Includes classic full-length films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts. Part of the Internet Archives. Free. Review Creative Commons license before sharing. Warning Video quality may be poor and not meet accessibility standards.
refseek Educational Video Sites Selected list of online educational video sites

Public Domain videos

Free to Use and Reuse: Public Domain Films Public Domain Films from the National Film Registry. Library of Congress
List of films in the public domain A non-definitive list of films in the public domain in the United States. Being in the public domain refers to works that no government, organization, or individual owns and is considered common property. This list is not comprehensive, but provides you with resources to check. Links to view videos may be available on linked pages. Wikipedia article