This guide on Data has gathered links to credible websites (statistics online), identified library databases (statistics in library databases), and links you to data visualization sites and tools (infographics).
If the links on this guide did not take you to what you need and you need to search for statistics on the web let the Video: Evaluating Websites help you select credible sites. Of course, you can always Ask a Librarian to assist you.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a comprehensive database of multidisciplinary subjects for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Video: Evaluating Sources for Credibility
Watch Evaluating Sources for Credibility to understand what it means for a source to be credible. Learn why you should use credible sources for your college assignments.
On the Vol State Need Help page at the end of this video the information on SMS / Text is outdated. Check our Ask a Librarian web page for ways we can assist you with your research.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
The guide Data links users to credible resources for statistics and facts on a variety of topics and subject areas.