Find statistics online
The websites on this guide page are categorized to help you find the needed resources. There are multiple websites in each of these categories.
- Health statistics on Tennessee, United States, and International
- Education statistics links you to resources for data on education in Tennessee, United States and around the world.
- Cultural, Political, and Social data in United States
- Vol State data links you to statistical info on the College
- Tennessee data provides links to statistics and data on Tennessee and Vol State.
- United States data includes links to general and census data
- International statistics and data on a variety of topics
Health statistics
Find statistical information on health issues with these resources for Tennessee, National (US), and International health data.
- Tennessee Health StatisticsStatistics and publications on public health issues in Tennessee. Includes the County Health Rankings report which ranks the overall health of the counties for all 50 states. Tennessee Department of Health.
- County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: TennesseeAnnual County Health Rankings for Tennessee begin in 2011. Data on health factors including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births .
Collaboration between Robert Wood Johnson Foundation & the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
- CDC FastStatsAlphabetical list of statistics and data on public health issues. Same resources available from CDC Public Health Data.
- CDC Public Health DataData & statistics on public health issues organized by topic. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsAnnual County Health Rankings arranged by state begin in 2011. Find statistics for every state in America. Discover policies, programs, and systems changes that can improve health
Collaboration between Robert Wood Johnson Foundation & the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
- Global Health ObservatorySections: Global Health Observatory, Data Repository, Reports, and Country statistics. World Health Organization (WHO)
- World Health Organization (WHO) statisticsGlobal health data from the World Health Organization (WHO)
Education statistics
Find statistical information on education with these resources for Tennessee, National (US), and International education data.
- Data & Research: Tenn. Dept. of EducationAssessments, assessment results, accountability results, research reports, policy briefs, and other data about the academic progress of Tennessee's students, schools, and districts.
- Research & Assessment: TBRReports, data, and statistics on Tennessee Colleges and Universities from the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR)
- Research - THECFind information on public, private, and for-profit Higher Education in Tennessee from the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC). Includes TN Promise Annual Report, Fact Book, County Profiles, Trends, Drive to 55, and Authorized Institutions & Data.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Research & Statistics - US Dept. of EducationFind data and statistics on education in the United States. Includes information on both K-12 and higher education.
U.S. Government website
- Education Statistics (World Bank EdStats)Portal for comprehensive data and analysis sources for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity. Country at a Glance shows education in individual countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Cultural. Political, and Social statistical info
Statistics focusing on cultural, political, and social topics in the United States
- American National Election Studies (ANES)Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)Data and research on religions, primarily American. Pennsylvania State University.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)Data on crime and justice at all levels of government in the United States.
Government website. U.S. Department of Justice - National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture (NADAC)This online repository facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring and sharing data on the arts.
University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research. - Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Vol State data
Quick links to data and statistics from various College departments including Campus Police and the office of Research, Planning, & Institutional Effectiveness.
- Campus Safety (Vol State)The College's Annual Campus Safety and Security Report is available from this web page.
Tennessee data
Statistical information on the population, economics, employment, individual counties and much more in the state of Tennessee.
- Tennessee Quick Facts (TNECD) Quick facts about Tennessee plus a county profile tool. Tenn. Dept. of Economic & Community Development (TNECD)
- Tennessee State Data Center The Data by Topic page links you to information on demographics, economics, economic indicators, education, employment, government & finance, health, income, labor force, and population. The State Data Center Program is a national cooperative program with the U.S. Census Bureau.
United States data
United States data provides links to resources with statistical information on the nation. Links in the general statistical data section connect you to government sites with lots of data. Demographic information is available with the links in the population and census data section.
- Data.govHome of the U.S. government's open data. On this site are data, tools, and resources from federal agencies.
- Data and Statistics about the United StatesFind data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- Data USAData USA consolidates select public US Government data. Find data on jobs, skills, and education across industry and geography. Data visualizations.
Free site created by MIT Media Lab, Deloitte, and Datawheel
- U.S. Census DataAccess data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau with this centralized location - data.census.gov
- U.S. Census 2010 dataCensus briefs, summary files, and population maps based on data gathered in 2010 census. U.S. Census Bureau
- Statistical Abstract Series Collection of historical Statistical Abstracts The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book.
International statistics and data
A variety of international data is available in this section
- country profiles links you to information on specific countries
- general international data covers a wide range of topics
- economic data includes business, economics, finance, and development statistics
- Europe links you to data on this specific region
- World Factbook (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
- UNdataPortal to statistical databases produced by various UN agencies. United Nations
- UNESCO - Data for the Sustainable Development GoalsThemes are: 1) Education & Literacy, 2) Science, Technology & Innovation, 3) Culture, and 4) Communication & Information
- World StatisticsWorld Statistics gives free and easy access to data provided by International Organisations, such as the World Bank, the United Nations and Eurostat. Search by issue, not location.
- globalEDGEWeb-portal provides information on global business activities. Michigan State University
- World Bank: open dataData about development in countries around the globe. The World Bank
- EurostatPublications and statistics on Europe gathered by European Statistical System, a European Union agency.