Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Thigpen Library Research Guides

Data, Statistics, and Infographics: Statistics in library databases

Collection of online and library resources that provide state, national, and international data on a variety of topics.

Statistics and data are available in the library's databases but they are not always easy to find. On this page are some recommended databases and search strategies to find statistical information.

Find statistics in library databases

Articles from magazines and journals frequently contain statistical information within the article itself and library databases have lots of articles. Find the article with statistics by adding the search term data or statistics to your search query. Also, look at the database's search filters / limiters and see if you can select articles with charts, or graphs, or statistics. 

Another option is to use one of our library databases that contain easy to find statistics or search in eBooks for statistics.

Library databases with statistical data

Articles in other databases have statistics but these databases have easy to find statistical information in their content.

CQ Researcher

Each report in CQ Researcher contains data or statistics on the issue being discussed. Look at the Map/Graph section for visualizations of data. The Next Steps and Bibliography frequently provide links to websites or online reports with statistical information.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Each Opposing Viewpoints topic page typically has links to relevant statistics from credible sources.

Search in eBooks for statistics

When searching for statistics in eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), use specific search terms for the type of data needed.  For example:

  • "economic indicators"
  • "social indicators" 
  • "population -- statistics"
  • "statistics, medical" 
  • "United States -- statistics" 

For best results use the punctuation (, --), spacing, and quotation marks as shown.