Resources: General
Resources for Supporting Students and their Mental Health
- Faculty Presentation: Supporting Student Mental HealthPresentation from January 2024 by Jennifer Burton, Ph.D., and Christa Casey, LCSW
- Faculty Guide to Supporting Student Mental Health The emotional well-being of students has become a top priority in higher education as mental health challenges among college students have risen significantly in recent years. According to the annual Healthy Minds Study (HMS), in 2021 more than 80% of students reported that emotional or mental health difficulties hurt their academic performance one or more days in the previous month.
Webinar Recommendations
Library Resources
Thigpen Library provides online access to these publications.
- American Journal of Distance Education This link opens in a new window Journal of research and scholarship in the field of American distance education. Established in 1987 with the mission of promoting research and disseminating information about distance education in the Americas.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window Online edition which is published every weekday. News, information, and job postings for faculty and administrators in colleges and universities. Vol State subscription Use your Vol State email address to create an account for complete access to all articles from off-campus.
- New Directions for Community Colleges This link opens in a new window A quarterly journal that offers practical recommendations on current trends in the field of community college education. Online access is limited 2023-Current year, select article titles are open access. Online full-text archival access is available 2020 (v220, Issue 189) - 2022 (v2022, Issue 200).
- New Directions for Teaching & Learning This link opens in a new window A quarterly journal that offers a comprehensive range of ideas and techniques for improving college teaching based on the experience of seasoned instructors and the latest findings of educational and psychological researchers. Online access is limited 2023-Current year, select article titles have open access. Online full-text archival access is available 2020 (v220, Issue 161) - 2022 (v2022, Issue 172).
You can find more professional resources in the library's article databases and EBSCO eBook collection. Use the A-Z database collection to use these online resources.
- A-Z Databases from Thigpen Library An alphabetical list of all databases available from Thigpen Library.
Resources: Online Teaching
These resources focus on asynchronous classes – the traditional online course at Vol State.
Resources from Vol State
- eLearn for Vol State FacultyDistributed Ed. Knowledge Base for eLearn
- My Media: Quick Start Guide & Support InfoMy Media is an online video platform within eLearn which enables you to create and share videos. Media produced can be viewed on computers, tablets, and smartphones.
Miscellaneous
- Tips for Creating an Effective Learning Environment in an Online Course (YouTube video) Sharon Buchbinder, RN, PhD, shares her strategies for creating an effective learning environment in an online course. Video from Jones and Bartlett Learning.
Resources: Virtual Teaching
These resources focus on the virtual classroom – synchronous class sessions. The Resources: Online Teaching section has additional resources on eLearn.
Resources from Vol State
- Best Practices for Virtual TeachingBest practices for Vol State faculty teaching virtual courses
Using Zoom and Video Conferencing
- Guidance for Virtual Classes at Vol StateRecommended practices for holding and recording virtual (i.e., synchronous or live) class sessions. Addresses FERPA concerns.
- Teaching with ZoomCollection of articles in the VSCC Knowledge Base on using Zoom.
- Securing Zoom MeetingsIncludes how to prevent "Zoombombing"
- Tips for Delivering a Great Video Meeting Checklist to ensure a smooth online meeting experience
Mindfulness and Self-Care
Wanting to work on practicing more mindfulness and self-care? Or maybe you have questions about working from home? Below are some resources to get you started.
- Greater Good Science Center - Mindfulness (UC Berkley) Mindfulness for Adults
- Koru Mindfulness Center (Duke University) Free meditation and mindfulness resources.
Suggested Books Focusing on Self-Care and Boundaries:
Pause: Harnessing the L
ife-Changing Power of Giving Yourself a Break by Rachael O'Meara
Set Boundaries, Find Peace: 
A Guide to Reclaiming Yourself by Nedra Glover Tawwab
TBR Resources
- Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (TBR) Find resources on Course Design, Classroom Management, High Impact Practices, and more.
- TBR Teaching Tuesdays 2020 SeriesSeries of short videos on TBR YouTube channel
- Effective Feedback TBR Teaching Tidbit to support HIP Quality Dimension: Feedback
- Integrative Learning: Discussion TBR Teaching Tidbit to support HIP Quality Dimension: Discussion
- Every Learner Everywhere Expert Network Flexible, on-demand coaching to faculty, course coordinators, instructional designers, and academic leaders at U.S. institutions of higher education with the goal of advancing equity and inclusion in blended and online modalities using all aspects of digital learning.