About This Guide
These MEDICAL resources are appropriate for Nursing assignments. Find journal articles in databases, watch Streaming video collections, use Books on the shelf and online, and check out some credible Web Resources, including PubMed. Improve your search when you use Medical Search Terms.
Go to Get Help tab for info on contacting the library, AMA citation styles, and finding credible and reputable websites. Related Research Guides tab will take you to the guide for Health Sciences, it opens in a new tab.
Books on the shelf and online
Books on the shelves
Browse the R section for medical books and the Q section for science books. Or use "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to search for books by title or subject.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for items on the shelf in one of Vol State campus libraries
Books online
The library provides access to books online through our subscription resources.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date information on health care topics. Resources include nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, reference books, and multimedia resources.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- R2 Library This link opens in a new windowR2 Digital Library is a health science collection with medical and nursing health eBooks.
American Journal of Nursing
- American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new windowAJN is available through Ovid. View the Table of Contents for the current issue. Or browse the journal by using the links for past issues on the journal issue list.
NOTE: There is a limit on the number of simultaneous users. Try again if you encounter problems opening an article.
Find journal articles
These library subscription databases contain academic and professional journals.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThigpen Library's subscription to CINAHL REINSTATED July 01, 2023.
Nursing and Allied Health research reference database with books/monographs and journals.
EBSCOhost database collection
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date information on health care topics. Resources include nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, reference books, and multimedia resources.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowReference materials, journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, and videos on health issues from authoritative medical sources
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and reference resources on all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. Suitable for both professionals and students in a nursing-focused program.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Web Resources, PubMed and more
These are credible and reputable resources available on the web. Full-text access may NOT be available for all resources.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
- National Library of Medicine Access to a variety of medical databases and literature. U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Medical Search Terms
Professional language is very important when searching for articles and books on medical topics. Use medical terminology for your search terms. Improve your search by using MeSH.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
MeSH is a comprehensive controlled vocabulary for the purpose of indexing journal articles and books in the life sciences; it serves as a thesaurus that facilitates searching. Created and updated by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), it is used by the MEDLINE/PubMed article database and by NLM's catalog of book holdings.
Search the MeSH vocabulary to find the correct medical terminology for your topic or topics before you begin your search in a database. Many medical and health sciences databases include a MeSH thesaurus or index or you can search the official MeSH site below.
Streaming video collections
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection with more than 7,000 videos in the Health Sciences. Browse videos by discipline or search for your topic.
Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection includes videos in Health & Medicine and Nursing. Browse videos by subject or search for your topic.
Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts.
