Research Guides: Search & Browse: Newspapers

Newspapers

Use the links below to identify newspaper resources in Thigpen Library's online databases, available 24/7. A variety of regional and national newspaper publication from across the United States can be found in the Access World News database and the US Major Dailies database. A selection of international newspaper resources is available in the Access World News database.

Online News Databases and News Collections

Access World News / NewsBank This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of reliable news covering a wide array of topics and issues from global, national, and local news sources, includes numerous Tennessee news sources.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Online edition which is published every weekday. News, information, and job postings for faculty and administrators in colleges and universities.
Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news from The Tennessean newspaper from 2002 to present.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee.
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
The Tennessean can also be found in the US Major Dailies database.
Tennessean Historical Newspapers 1812 to 2002 This link opens in a new window
Digitized pages of The Tennessean (1812-2009) provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns. Discover not only Nashville-area news, but stories from around the state and the nation. Search and view news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries and cartoons from 1812 to 2009.

NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Access to five United States (US) national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content updated by 8:00 a.m. each day. Content archived from the 1980s to present.