Thigpen Library houses approximately 40,000+ print books. A display of current and newly acquired books is located on the 1st floor of the library. Children's books and a collection of graphic novels are also located on the 1st floor. The main collection of circulating and reference books is located on the 2nd floor of the library. A collection of leisure and popular reading is located on the 2nd floor. To search for print books, go to Pioneer Search (the library catalog), browse the shelves, or ASK a librarian for assistance.
E-Book Collections
Electronic books (E-Books) are located in an assortment of library subscription databases. Search directly in E-Book databases or go to Pioneer Search (the library catalog). Access is available 24/7.
Online reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides, that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps. Use the Credo collection for background research and discover key concepts and a mind map on your topic.
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. The authoritative reference for music research with articles written by musical scholars and experts. Grove charts diverse history, theory, and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year. The reference collection that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
