Need a break? Learn more about leisure reading, videos, audio books, eBooks, games, and more to help you unwind.
Inquire at each campus library to see what types of games, puzzles, etc. are available to you.
Browse the shelves or use Pioneer Search to locate print books for your reading pleasure. A Leisure Collection is located on the 2nd floor of Thigpen Library, Gallatin.
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Numerous DVD titles are available to support film and other Vol State courses that require students to view select films. DVDs are shelved on the 2nd floor of the Thigpen Library and are available for a 2-week checkout. Many of the Browsing DVDs were kindly donated to the library by members of the Vol State community. A large number of DVDs are suitable for viewing when you need to take a break from your academic endeavours.
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Streaming video collection. 37 Shakespeare plays created for BBC television 1978-1985.
Digital Theatre+ provides a rich collection of resources designed to elevate the study of Theatre and Performance, with new content added to the platform on a regular basis.
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Streaming video collection. Includes documentaries and feature films. Most videos are closed-captioned.
Note: You may see a "Create Your Account" page that implies you need to create a Kanopy account. You do NOT need a Kanopy account to watch the videos. Click the "skip" button - you may need to scroll to find the button - to go to the videos.
