These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
Explore a comprehensive database of premier periodical resource on multidisciplinary subjects. Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. ArtSTOR is included in JSTOR.
provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history. Research Library is updated daily with new content and includes a deep backfile, providing users with deeper historical context. A key multidisciplinary resource, Research Library is built on renowned ProQuest vocabulary and indexing and brings all of these resources together through a single user-friendly interface.
For additional resources, click here!
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
This list of library databases are ones that focus specifically on criminal justice or law enforcement topics or were requested by faculty to include as a recommended resource.
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
Journals, trade publications, and magazines in the legal field.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text database includes the most important English-language social science journals. Provides sources covering a wide array of subjects, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and more.
This collection of videos from Films on Demand are specific to the Criminal Justice Discipline.
You can use Pioneer Search to find books on the shelf. Select "limit your results" to "in the library" to find only physical items on your topic.
If you want to visit and browse the shelves, you will find Criminology books in the HV section in Thigpen Library in Gallatin.
You can request that available books be sent to the campus library of your choice for your convenient pickup. Use the "My Library Card" feature in Pioneer Search.
These recommended websites provide information and access to a variety of information sources on criminal justice topics. The websites were selected because they provide free, public access to the majority of information on their site.
Interested in a career in Law Enforcement? Check out these resources.
Visit the ASK desk in person
Call 615-230-3400
Email circulation@volstate.edu
ASK a Librarian in person
Email librarian@volstate.edu
Schedule an Appointment
Chat Live with a Librarian 24/7
