This guide was created to help Fire Science faculty easily find online resources from Thigpen Library to use in eLearn. Do not hesitate to contact a librarian if you need assistance using or finding online library resources.
Not faculty? These resources are useful to anyone interested in the topic of fire science; however, you must be currently affiliated with Vol State to use these resources when off-campus. Ask a Librarian if you need recommendations about a database to use for your research.
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
For additional resources, click here!
Library databases provide access to full-text articles from a variety of journals and magazines. The databases have journals and magazines dedicated to fire science topics.
If you are interested in a particular journal search the Journal Title List to find if it is available in a database. Or use the Fire Science periodicals available link for a list of magazines and journals available. CAUTION: Finding a periodical title on one of these lists does not mean every issue and all the content will be available online.
Want to include an article in your course? You have two options:
Use our Database Help guide to get answers to common login issues, permalink questions, and tip on a few databases.
Thigpen Library has several streaming video collections. Videos from the library's collection meet accessibility standards with closed-captioning and transcripts. You can easily embed Academic Video Online and Films on Demand streaming videos into eLearn course modules.
Search in these two multidisciplinary streaming video collections to find videos related to Fire Science. Or see the curated list of available streaming videos.
The following links are to streaming videos from library collections. Access is limited to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff. You can search for other videos in these two collections.
The Videos guide answers basic questions about linking to and embedding videos in eLearn. The guide offers help with other issues as well. Ask a Librarian for help using or finding videos in our databases.