This guide was created to help Fire Science faculty easily find online resources from Thigpen Library to use in eLearn. Do not hesitate to contact a librarian if you need assistance using or finding online library resources.
Not faculty? These resources are useful to anyone interested in the topic of fire science; however, you must be currently affiliated with Vol State to use these resources when off-campus. Ask a Librarian if you need recommendations about a database to use for your research.
A-Z Database List
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a wide range of multidisciplinary topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowe-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new windowReference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts
Find articles and journals in a library database
Library databases provide access to full-text articles from a variety of journals and magazines. The databases have journals and magazines dedicated to fire science topics.
If you are interested in a particular journal search the Journal Title List to find if it is available in a database. Or use the Fire Science periodicals available link for a list of magazines and journals available. CAUTION: Finding a periodical title on one of these lists does not mean every issue and all the content will be available online.
- Fire Science periodicals availableA current list of journal and magazine titles relevant to Fire Science topics that are available in Thigpen's Library databases and other online resources.
Want to include an article in your course? You have two options:
- Download the article and add it as a file to your course content.
- Link to the article by using the article's permalink. Users must be affiliated with Vol State to use the article.
Use our Database Help guide to get answers to common login issues, permalink questions, and tip on a few databases.
Find eBooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowUse this collection of eBooks to find books on fire science. Suggested search terms: fire departments, fire fighters, fire fighting, or wildfires
Use streaming videos
Thigpen Library has several streaming video collections. Videos from the library's collection meet accessibility standards with closed-captioning and transcripts. You can easily embed Academic Video Online and Films on Demand streaming videos into eLearn course modules.
Search in these two multidisciplinary streaming video collections to find videos related to Fire Science. Or see the curated list of available streaming videos.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
The following links are to streaming videos from library collections. Access is limited to current Vol State students, faculty, and staff. You can search for other videos in these two collections.
- Fire (Academic Video Online)
22 min. streaming video. Topics include: California fires of 2007, the Los Alamos Research Laboratory super computer called ‘Blue Mountain’ that simulated unfolding weather patterns, the Fire Camera system in NSW, Australia, and the fire festival in Spain. - The Nature of Fire (Films on Demand)22 min. streaming video. With detailed examples of firefighting techniques, the program demonstrates the removal of heat from a class A blaze.
- World's Worst Forest Fires (Films on Demand)46 min. streaming video. Explores the fire outbreaks that hit Australia, California, and Southern Europe each summer, fires that devour the humid rain forests of the Amazon and Indonesia.
- The Big Burn (Films on Demand)53 min. streaming video. Story of an unimaginable wildfire that swept across the Northern Rockies in the summer of 1910.
- London's Great Fire (Films on Demand52 min. streaming video. The 1666 London fire as described by the diarist Samuel Pepys.
- Fighting Fire with Fire (Films on Demand)8 min. streaming video. Examines the history of fire in one of the most fire-prone, drought-afflicted areas of our world: Australia.
Help with streaming videos
The Videos guide answers basic questions about linking to and embedding videos in eLearn. The guide offers help with other issues as well. Ask a Librarian for help using or finding videos in our databases.
