Find information on a variety of science topics with these suggested library and web resources. Discover databases with science articles and eJournal subscriptions available from the library. Watch free streaming videos on science topics from library collections and reputable websites or find eBooks on Science topics. Check out the online science magazines and science research in the web resources for the sciences section.
Related research guides recommends other subject guides on STEM topics. Need more help? Ask a Librarian
Databases with science articles
This is an alphabetical list of specialized library databases with articles from magazines and academic journals in various science disciplines.
- Applied Science & Technology Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals from professional and technical societies, specialized subject magazines, directories and conference proceedings in all applied science fields.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile.
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournal collection on agriculture, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, and physics
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and reference sources on environmental issues and policies. Diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology topics
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFIle
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Open access.
- Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments in the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology fields.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Mulit-subject Databases
Articles on science topics can also be found in the multi-subject databases JSTOR and ProQuest Research Library.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
Find eBooks on Science topics
The EBSCOhost eBook Collection has books on more science topics than our print collection. Reference materials are also available in this collection.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch for eBooks on your science topic in this collection.
eJournal Subscriptions
In addition to article databases Thigpen Library subscribes to individual journals with online access to articles.
- Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new windowOfficial journal of the Division of Chemical Education of the American Chemical Society. Peer-reviewed articles and related information for those in the field of chemical education.
- Laboratory Animals This link opens in a new windowInternational journal of laboratory animal science, technology and welfare. Publishes peer-reviewed original papers and reviews on all aspects of the care and use of animals in biomedical research.
Web Resources for the Sciences
Online Science Magazines
These free online magazines are from reputable publishers. Access to some content may be limited.
- Oceanus MagazineOceanus magazine explores the oceans in depth, highlighting the research and researchers at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Free full-text access.
- Science NationA weekly online magazine from the National Science Foundation that takes a dynamic, entertaining look at the research--and the researchers--that will change our lives.
- Knowable MagazineReview articles written by leading scholars from the 50 Annual Reviews journals serve as springboards for stories in Knowable Magazine. Get insights on current research through in-depth features, explainers, articles, essays, interviews, infographics, slideshows, and comics.
Science Research
These resources are from reputable organizations, but are NOT affiliated with a library database.
- Science.govSearches databases and selected websites from 15 federal agencies. Find authoritative U.S. government science information.
Government web portal - National Science Foundation Special ReportsCollection of reports on various science topics.
National Science Foundation is an independent federal agency. - National Library of Medicine Access to a variety of medical databases and literature. U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
Streaming videos on science topics
Video collections from the Library
Videos from these library subscription databases meet accessibility standards. Users must login to view videos when off-campus.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowSearch for videos on your science topic. Browse video titles by opening Disciplines on the menu bar and select Science & Technology.
Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowSearch for streaming videos on your topic. Open "Menu" and select "Browse Videos". Science categories include: Biology, Earth Science, Environmental Science, and Physical Science.
Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts.
Videos on the web
These free videos may not meet all accessibility standards, but are from reputable sources. Users can create an account with the New York Times using Vol State's subscription.
- Khan Academy - ScienceShort video tutorials in Biology, Chemistry, Cosmology & Astronomy, Electrical Engineering, Organic Chemistry, and Physics.
- YouTube: Science ChannelFind videos from Animal Planet, Discovery, National Geographic, and many more
Related Research Guides
For additional recommended resources look at these subject guides that cover STEM related topics.
Need Help?
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
About this Sciences guide
The purpose of this Sciences guide is to link users to credible resources that may help them with college courses in the various science disciplines.
Images used on this guide are 1) available on the public domain, 2) created from a licensed resource, and/or 3) licensed under a Creative Commons license and used according to the terms in the license.