Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a wide range of multidisciplinary topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowe-books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new windowReference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - OverDrive eBooks & AudioBooks (Libby app) This link opens in a new windowCollection of eBooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to OverDrive with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app. NOTE: The OverDrive mobile app has been replaced by the Libby mobile app.
Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides,that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps. Use the Credo collection for background research and discover key concepts and a mind map on your topic.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
Web Resources
Recommended web resources for Geography related topics.
- National Geographic SocietyThe National Geographic Society is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to exploring our planet, protecting wildlife and habitats.
- United NationsFind information on economic, security, legal, and humanitarian issues on this international organization’s website.
- U.S. Department of StateOversees international relations for the United States.
U.S. government website - WorldAtlasWorldAtlas is a trusted resource for teachers, students, and geography enthusiasts. World Atlas includes Geography resources and other topics, including sociology, demography, environment, economics, politics, and travel. Through maps, articles, tables, lists, and quizzes, we aim to produce amazing content that is both educational and entertaining.
- World Factbook (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Multidisciplinary collection includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers.
Search for a video. Browse collection by video title list, by discipline or by producer.
Closed-captioned with transcripts. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts
