Use library databases to find journal articles
Use these library databases to find full-text articles from scholarly journals.
- Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in drama, music, art history, and film-making.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJournals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from many subject areas.
EBSCOhost database collection. Specialized subsets available.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
Find eBooks in the EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Use broad search terms to find relevant eBooks on your topic.
Examples of broad search terms.
piano
Beethoven
Use quotes to tell the search engine the words belong together
"John Coltrane"
"music therapy"
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowe-books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Find books on the shelves in Thigpen Library
Music books are located in the M section on the second floor of Thigpen Library.
Go to the ML 102 section for encyclopedias on jazz, gospel, opera, popular music, and music genres. In ML 105 you will find encyclopedias on composers and musicians.
The print edition of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 vols) is located at ML 100 .N48 2001.
Search the catalog to discover more resources on the shelves or ask for assistance.
- Pioneer Search
One search gets you results from the library catalog and many of the library's online resources. Access to online resources is limited to authorized users
About this Music guide
This Music guide
- directs students to credible resources for their Music Appreciation class assignments;
- provides links to library databases and commercial websites where students can listen to and/or watch musical performances.
Begin your research with Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowReference collection that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford University Press
Learn more about your topic with Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a collection of reference eBooks like encyclopedias and dictionaries.
If you are undecided about your topic, use the link below to browse a list of "Music Topics in Credo Reference."
Search on words related to your interests, i.e. guitar, to learn more.
- Music Topics in Credo ReferenceA list of topic pages related to music in Credo Reference.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOnline reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides,that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps. Use the Credo collection for background research and discover key concepts and a mind map on your topic.
