Research Guides: Business: Recommended Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines. Multidisciplinary.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General interest periodical database. Journals available.

For additional resources, click here!

Ebooks

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
OverDrive eBooks (Libby app) This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to OverDrive with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app. NOTE: The OverDrive mobile app has been replaced by the Libby mobile app.

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Multidisciplinary collection includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers.
Search for a video. Browse collection by video title list, by discipline or by producer.
Closed-captioned with transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts

Find business data

With these specialized databases and credible websites you can research a company or industry and find business statistics.

Databases

For help on using specific databases found in this guide go to Help with recommended databases

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)

Websites

For business research there are many credible, free resources available on the web. Use these recommended resources to find U.S. or international business information.

EDGAR
Find company filings for public corporations required by the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
U.S. government website.
NASDAQ
Financial news and information on companies whose stock is traded on the NASDAQ stock exchange.
Company website.
New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
Financial information and the latest NYSE stock and indices prices.
Company website
U.S. Department of Commerce
Find information on trade, economic development, technology, entrepreneurship and business development, environmental stewardship, and statistical research and analysis in the U.S.
U.S. government website

International Business Info

Business Culture Complexity Index
A league table and world heat map illustrating the potential complexity/ease of doing business in the top 50 economies of the world.
Commisceo Global Consultancy is UK based international consulting group
globalEDGE
Web-portal provides information on global business activities. Michigan State University
International Trade and Tariff data
Databases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
World Trade Organization (WTO)

Find articles in databases

These databases focus on business-related topics and resources and you will find articles from magazines, trade publications, and academic journals.

For help on using specific databases found in this guide go to Help with recommended databases

Business Abstracts with Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window Business articles from journals, trade publications, and magazines. EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Business, news and trade publications in all business disciplines. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Articles from journals and magazines that focus on economics topics and related fields. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to present. Also accessible through ProQuest Research Library or U.S. Major Dailies.

Use eBooks

Books provide more insight into business topics and can help you better understand a topic presented in class or textbook. The information will not be as current as an article, but will have more depth and breadth.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Collection includes 18,000 business eBooks

Streaming videos

Streaming videos, like books, can help you better understand topics presented in class. These links take you to the business "section" of the library's streaming video collections – Academic Video Online and Films on Demand.

Bloomberg News Channel (Academic Video Online) Collection of short videos from Bloomberg News. The channel has many news stories on business topics. You can also launch searches for other videos in the database.
Business & Economics Collection (Films on Demand) Search videos in the Business & Economics Collection. Or you can expand your search to include all videos in Films on Demand. Closed-captioned with transcripts.