Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a comprehensive database of multidisciplinary subjects for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Find articles in databases
These databases focus on business-related topics and resources and you will find articles from magazines, trade publications, and academic journals.
For help on using specific databases found in this guide go to Help with recommended databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window Business articles from journals, trade publications, and magazines.EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile.
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Business, news and trade publications in all business disciplines. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in TennesseeResource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Articles from journals and magazines that focus on economics topics and related fields. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in TennesseeResource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to present. Also accessible through ProQuest Research Library or U.S. Major Dailies.
Find business data websites
Websites
For business research there are many credible, free resources available on the web. Use these recommended resources to find U.S. or international business information.
- EDGARFind company filings for public corporations required by the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
U.S. government website. - NASDAQFinancial news and information on companies whose stock is traded on the NASDAQ stock exchange.
Company website. - New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)Financial information and the latest NYSE stock and indices prices.
Company website - U.S. Department of CommerceFind information on trade, economic development, technology, entrepreneurship and business development, environmental stewardship, and statistical research and analysis in the U.S.
U.S. government website
International Business Info
- Business Culture Complexity IndexA league table and world heat map illustrating the potential complexity/ease of doing business in the top 50 economies of the world.
Commisceo Global Consultancy is UK based international consulting group - globalEDGEWeb-portal provides information on global business activities. Michigan State University
- International Trade and Tariff dataDatabases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
Streaming videos
Streaming videos, like books, can help you better understand topics presented in class. These links take you to the business "section" of the library's streaming video collections – Academic Video Online and Films on Demand.
- Bloomberg News Channel (Academic Video Online) Collection of short videos from Bloomberg News. The channel has many news stories on business topics. You can also launch searches for other videos in the database.
- Business & Economics Collection (Films on Demand) Search videos in the Business & Economics Collection. Or you can expand your search to include all videos in Films on Demand. Closed-captioned with transcripts.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
This Business guide provides quick access to library resources and credible websites on business topics.
Images used on this guide are 1) available on the public domain, 2) created from a licensed resource, and/or 3) licensed under a Creative Commons license and used according to the terms in the license.