Video & Films
Other resources are available from the Thigpen Library to help you with your research. These include streaming videos and newspapers.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. 37 Shakespeare plays created for BBC television 1978-1985.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Includes documentaries and feature films. Most videos are closed-captioned.
Warning! You may see a "Create Your Account" page that implies you need to create a Kanopy account. You do NOT need a Kanopy account to watch the videos. Click the "skip" button - you may need to scroll to find the button - to go to the videos.
News & Newspapers
- Access World News / NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news covering a wide array of topics and issues from global, national, and local news sources, includes numerous Tennessee news sources.
- Historical Newspapers: The Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
Discover not only Nashville-area news, but stories from around the state and the nation. Search and view news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries and cartoons from 1812 to 2002.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowArticles from newspapers from around the globe and U.S. regional, national and local newspapers.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Tennessean This link opens in a new windowLocal and regional news from The Tennessean newspaper from 2002 to present.Provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL). The Tennessean can also be found in the US Major Dailies database.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess to five US national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content updated by 8am each day. Archives start in the 1980s.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from The Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to present. Also accessible through ProQuest Research Library or U.S. Major Dailies.
