Expectations In Research
What do you expect to find when you start your research? If you think there's a perfect source or two out there that exactly matches your research question you're most likely mistaken. This video can help provide you with some perspective on what you'll find in your research and what to do when you don't find exactly what you're looking for.
Understanding Databases
Databases are organized collection of information. They are most often used to find journals and other periodical literature which are usually the best sources for an academic research paper. Before using a database let's get a good understanding of how they work and how to find solid resources using one.
Databases & Search Techniques
- Searching Databases (Video)Different search techniques you can use in databases like using keywords & synonyms, limiting by scholarly publication & date, phrase searching, using AND & OR, and making use of the Advanced Search feature.
Library Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines. Multidisciplinary.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJournals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowResearch portal on current social topics with a variety of resources that support differing views. Resources include viewpoint essays, articles, primary materials, statistics, and multimedia resources. Helps students develop critical thinking skills.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
These are some of the most used subject databases.
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, books, and multimedia on agricultural topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsychology journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage from 1894 to present.
EBSCOhost database collection
- Art Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines on art topics.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowExplore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets, and more.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThigpen Library's subscription to CINAHL REINSTATED July 01, 2023.
Nursing and Allied Health research reference database with books/monographs and journals.
EBSCOhost database collection
- Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in the communications field. Subjects include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines on criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Education Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals on special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, teaching methods and other education topics
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology topics
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFIle
- Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new windowCollection of reference articles and primary documents on major historical issues and conflicts. Browse by eras s in World and U.S. history or by regions.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new windowEnglish and American literature resources. Online library of poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines in the Social Sciences.
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
Other subject area databases can be found by using the Subject drop down menu from the A-Z Database list or by using one of the Library's research Guides.