Information for APA Style
This guide page links you to resources and information to help you with your Vol State assignments that require you to use American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. Resources on this page, available both online and in print in the library, offer self-help assistance for using APA style to format your paper and create citations for use in your bibliography.
This page provides you with links to online resources, print copy of APA Publication Manual in the library, tips on using the Bedford Handbook, examples of formatting an APA paper, and a link to NoodleTools, an online citation management tool.
APA style: online resources
These free online resources (websites) are recommended resources to help you learn more about APA style. Find answers to your general questions.
- Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA StyleTutorial from APA Style Tutorials and Webinars page. Copyright 2020 American Psychological Association
- APA Style (from Purdue OWL)Purdue OWL is a trusted online academic source for citation styles and formatting.
- APA Style and Grammar GuidelinesThese style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the APA 7th Edition.
APA style: library resources
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the "official" guide to APA style. It is available in print format at all Vol State libraries.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages.
Bedford Handbook: APA style
The Bedford Handbook includes information on writing in APA Style. In the 9th edition of the Handbook, the APA Style section starts in Chapter 58. The chapter number may vary depending on what edition you have. Included are documentation style, paper format and more.
APA style: formatting the paper
The Bedford Handbook has sample pages from an APA paper to help you with formatting. Or use one of these links for an online example.
- APA Sample Paper (from Purdue OWL)Sample paper demonstrating APA style formatting
- APA Style: Paper FormatGeneral guidelines on paper format. Sample papers available.
- APA Style: Sample PapersPage contains several sample papers formatted in seventh edition APA Style.
- Purdue OWL: Writing the Experimental ReportHow to write experimental reports in the social sciences.
APA style with NoodleTools
Select APA Style for your project in NoodleTools for a properly formatted References list and in-text citations. An Annotated Bibliography can also be created with NoodleTools.
NoodleTools only provides help with citations, not the paper itself. NOTE: As of May 14, 2020 NoodleTools was formatting citations based on 6th edition, not the updated 7th edition.
- NoodleTools (login)
Web-based citation management tool for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. Register to create an account; it is free for Vol State students.
Use the NoodleTools Research Guide for easy to follow instructions. Go to libguides.volstate.edu/noodletools
Need help? Questions?
The purpose of this guide is to provide information about Vol State resources and free online resources available to help students with the basics of using APA style for their research papers and essays.