These MEDICAL resources are appropriate for Health Sciences and Nursing assignments.
Find journal articles in databases. Improve your search results when you use Medical Search Terms. Research in PubMed and more credible websites. Use books on the shelf and online or watch streaming videos.
For health and wellness information oriented towards the nonprofessional and general population use the Health – consumer resources tab. Resources on AMA and APA citation styles are available on the Get help page.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore a comprehensive database of multidisciplinary subjects for targeted results based on your interests and/or topics.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR helps you explore a wide range of scholarly content with additional research tools and features. As of 8/1/2024, ArtSTOR is now included in JSTOR.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
e-Books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new window
Reference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Libby eBooks & AudioBooks This link opens in a new windowCollection of eBooks and audiobooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to Libby with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook or audiobook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs. Closed-captioned with transcripts
Find journal articles
These library subscription databases contain academic and professional journals used by practitioners in the field.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health research reference database with books/monographs and journals.
EBSCOhost database collection
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on health care topics. Resources include nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, reference books, and multimedia resources.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Reference materials, journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, and videos on health issues from authoritative medical sources
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and reference resources on all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. Suitable for both professionals and students in a nursing-focused program.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines focusing on physical therapy and sports medicine.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Medical Search Terms (MeSH)
Professional language is very important when searching for articles and books on medical topics. Use medical terminology for your search terms. Improve your search by using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
MeSH is a comprehensive controlled vocabulary for the purpose of indexing journal articles and books in the life sciences; it serves as a thesaurus that facilitates searching. Created and updated by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), it is used by the MEDLINE/PubMed article database and by NLM's catalog of book holdings.
Search the MeSH vocabulary to find the correct medical terminology for your topic or topics before you begin your search in a database. Many medical and health sciences databases include a MeSH thesaurus or index or you can search the official MeSH site below.
Find books on the shelf and online
Books on the shelves
Browse the R section for medical books and the Q section for science books. Or use "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to search for books by title or subject.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Circulating books from the Gallatin campus can be sent to other campuses for pickup.
Books online
The library provides access to online books through these subscription resources.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch for eBooks on your medical topic.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowResources include reference books in addition to nursing and allied health journals
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
PubMed and more
These resources are NOT library databases, but are credible and reputable resources. Full-text access may NOT be available for all articles and reports.
- National Library of Medicine Access to a variety of medical databases and literature. U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
- PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Watch streaming videos
The streaming video collections have career information for the medical and health fields plus general videos on various medical and health topics.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection with more than 7,000 videos in the Health Sciences. Browse videos by discipline or search for your topic. Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts
- This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection includes videos in Health & Medicine and Nursing. Browse videos by subject or search for your topic. Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
Images used on this guide are 1) available on the public domain, 2) created from a licensed resource, and/or 3) licensed under a Creative Commons license and used according to the terms in the license.