Literary Databases
These specialized databases are excellent resources to use for all aspects of your literature research. The databases provide you with information on the authors, literary movements, and provide criticisms.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
English and American literature resources. Online library of poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Author entry includes personal information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, and informative essays about their lives and work.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes full-text poems, poetry citations, short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies and images .
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users in Tennessee
Provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Reference Books for Literature Research
Reference books are encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide facts and brief articles on a subject. These materials can help you better understand a topic or might be useful with topic selection.
The library reference database Credo Reference is an excellent alternative to Wikipedia or a general Google search.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference collection of subject encyclopedias, handbooks, and guides,that cover over 80 major subject disciplines. Entries include visual aids, images, photographs and maps. Use the Credo collection for background research and discover key concepts and a mind map on your topic.
Reading: the lighter side
Enjoy your Octavia Butler as much as your Zora Neale Hurston? Check out Books and Authors to find your next book to read.
- Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Looking for a good book to read? Browse by Character, Subject, Location and Time Period to find a book that interests you. Book reviews available.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)