Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About PERFORMING ARTS resources
Find information on the PERFORMING ARTS with these suggested resources.
Other guides on the Arts include:
Need help? Questions?
Ask a Librarian when you need research assistance or help using library resources.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Multidisciplinary collection includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers.
Search for a video. Browse collection by video title list, by discipline or by producer.
Closed-captioned with transcripts.
BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. 37 Shakespeare plays created for BBC television 1978-1985.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts
Find articles and books
Modern Drama This link opens in a new window
Modern Drama focuses on dramatic literature. The journal features refereed articles written from a variety of geo-political points of view, both formal and historical, of the dramatic literature of the past two centuries.
Full-text access begins with first issue of 2019.
Use these library databases to find articles or reviews of performing arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General interest periodical database. Journals available.
Books and Plays
You will find books on the performing arts both on Thigpen Library shelves and online.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search for plays by title or author. Also discover books on a variety of topics related to the performing arts.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
English and American literature resources. Online library of poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.