Research Guides: Physical Therapist Assistant: Library Resources: VSCC Databases

Find journal articles

These library subscription databases contain academic and professional journals used by practitioners in the field.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window

Nursing and Allied Health research reference database with books/monographs and journals.
EBSCOhost database collection
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on health care topics. Resources include nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, reference books, and multimedia resources.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Reference materials, journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, and videos on health issues from authoritative medical sources
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Journals and reference resources on all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. Suitable for both professionals and students in a nursing-focused program.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines focusing on physical therapy and sports medicine.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)

PubMed

PubMed is a free, U.S. government-created database of scholarly research in the medical and allied health sciences fields.

Note: not all articles are in full-text. Use Interlibrary Loan services to obtain full-text.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

Streaming Video Databases

Thigpen Library's streaming video databases supplement article databases by providing visual material for teaching and learning. The following databases are identified as providing the most relevant content to the Physical Therapy Assistant program.

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. AVON includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers. Alexander Street's products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.

Browse collection by video title list, by discipline, or by producer.
Closed-captioned with transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts