On this page are resources and information to help you
- create an Annotated Bibliography with NoodleTools.
- cite information in your paper with an "In-text citation" or "Footnote"
Annotated Bibliography
An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each source.
- Annotated Bibliographies (from Purdue OWL) Learn more about Annotated Bibliographies from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.
NoodleTools lets you
- add annotations to a source, and
- hide or show the annotations as needed
Adding / Editing Annotations
Each source provides you a field (text box) to add annotations about the source. You do not need to duplicate the source since you can switch between viewing and hiding the annotation.
Click the More (three dots) menu for the source entry and select Edit.
Viewing Annotations
Your annotations only show on the source list or your Works Cited page when you select "Citations and annotations" as a formatting option.
From the Sources screen
- click the Export / Print icon
- select "Formatting Options..."
The choices available on the "Formatting options" pop-up window differ based on the project's Citation Style.
- The "Include" section shows the current option selected
- "Citations and annotations" or
- "Citations only (no annotations)."
- Click the link to change the option.
Print Annotations with Sources
From the Sources screen
- click the Export / Print icon
- select "Formatting Options..."
- The "Include" section shows the current option selected
- "Citations and annotations" or
- "Citations only (no annotations)."
- Click the link to change the option.
- NoodleTools: How to export and print source citations Explains the various options available
In-text Citations and Footnotes
When you quote, paraphrase/summarize or refer to a source in a paper you need to refer the reader to the source. In MLA and APA styles you use an in-text citation and a footnote with Chicago style.
NoodleTools provides examples specific to a particular source. Create the In-text citations and footnotes a from the "More" (three dots) menu next to a citation on the Sources screen.
In-text Citations for MLA and APA
MLA and APA use in-text citations, also known as parenthetical references, to identify the information source when citing the information within your paper.
Create citation by selecting "In-text citation" the "More" (three dots) menu next to a citation on the Sources screen.
A pop-up window with the In-text citation appears in a pop-up window as shown in the following image of a partial MLA in-text citation window.
The following image shows a partial APA in-text citation window.
Footnotes - Chicago
Chicago style has two methods for documenting sources: Author-Date and Notes-Bibliography. NoodleTools can assist with the Notes-Bibliography method which uses footnotes for citations instead of in-text citations.
Create the footnote by selecting "Footnote format" the "More" (three dots) menu next to a citation on the Sources screen. NOTE: Footnote format option is only available with Chicago style projects.
The footnote for your source appears in a pop-up window as shown in the following image of a partial Footnote format window.
- Chicago Manual of Style (from Purdue OWL) Purdue OWL offers guidance in using the Notes-Bibliography System (NB) for documentation according to Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition. Sample papers are available to help with formatting questions.
This guide provides basic NoodleTools information. For detailed step-by-step instructions and in-depth information on topics like importing citations from databases or using Notecards use Solutions: NoodleTools Help Desk.