Thigpen Library has variety of databases to assist you with finding credible information for an informative speech. This page links you to a few library resources and credible websites to get you started. Another way to find resources is to use another research guide related to your topic — Careers, Education, Music, Sciences, etc.
Find a relevant research guide, and more resources, from the comprehensive list of research guides (https:// libguides.volstate.edu/research)
Events & Ideas
Find information and explanations on events and ideas.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Watch a streaming video. Videos have searchable transcripts to help you quickly find what you want. - Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference articles and primary documents on major historical issues and conflicts. Browse by eras s in World and U.S. history or by regions.
- TED Talks (Films on Demand)
Over a 1,000 TED Talks streaming videos are available.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information from five US national and regional newspapers
People
Find biographical information on people.
- Contemporary Authors (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Short biographical sketches available in this online reference collection - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online, home of Grove Music Online, is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. The authoritative reference for music research with articles written by musical scholars and experts. Grove charts diverse history, theory, and cultures of music around the globe. Based on a work first published in 1879 and updated frequently, Grove has been in continuous publication for over a century and now publishes hundreds of new articles and article revisions each year. The reference collection that includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Places
Find articles, factual, and cultural information on a city, country, or place.
Library Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowReference collection includes geographical and cultural information.
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee.
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowNewspapers keep readers informed about a place. Sometimes newspapers print a profile of a city, country, or place.
Web Resources
These web resources will be good sources for information and statistics on a location. The CIA World Fact Book is an excellent place to begin your research.
- World Factbook (CIA)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) - Data and Statistics about the United StatesFind data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
- World Health Organization (WHO) statisticsGlobal health data from the World Health Organization (WHO)
