Research for a persuasive speech will take longer and may be more difficult than research for an informative speech. This page provides you with resources to help with the research process. Another way to find resources is to use another research guide related to your topic — Careers, Education, Music, Sciences, etc. Find a relevant research guide, and more resources, from the comprehensive list of research guides (https:// libguides.volstate.edu/research)
There is an additional guide for the persuasive speech assignment used in some COMM 2045 sections.
Find your Position
CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) cover controversial and current hot topics, presenting background information, current situations and expert pro/con opinions. When you've decided on your topic, you may find supporting arguments and facts in these databases. You may also find a relevant visual aid in one of these two databases.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Research portal on current social topics with a variety of resources that support differing views. Resources include viewpoint essays, articles, primary materials, statistics, and multimedia resources. Helps students develop critical thinking skills. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Streaming Videos as a visual aid
Use streaming video for your visual aid! Find informative and instructional videos in these databases. Use clips or segments from a video as part of your presentation. The Videos guide provides tips on using both Films on Demand and Academic Video Online.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Includes TED talks and documentaries from Ken Burns. Videos on a variety of topics.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection. Includes programs from A&E Television Network BBC, PBS and many more well known producers.
Cultural, Political, and Social statistics
Statistics focusing on cultural, political, and social topics in the United States
- American National Election Studies (ANES)Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Collaboration of Stanford University and the University of Michigan.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)Data and research on religions, primarily American. Pennsylvania State University.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)Data on crime and justice at all levels of government in the United States.
Government website. U.S. Department of Justice - National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture (NADAC)This online repository facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring and sharing data on the arts.
University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research. - Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Health statistics
Find statistical information on health issues with these resources for Tennessee, National (US), and International health data.
- Tennessee Health StatisticsStatistics and publications on public health issues in Tennessee. Includes the County Health Rankings report which ranks the overall health of the counties for all 50 states. Tennessee Department of Health.
- County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: TennesseeAnnual County Health Rankings for Tennessee begin in 2011. Data on health factors including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births .
Collaboration between Robert Wood Johnson Foundation & the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
- CDC FastStatsAlphabetical list of statistics and data on public health issues. Same resources available from CDC Public Health Data.
- CDC Public Health DataData & statistics on public health issues organized by topic. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- County Health Rankings & RoadmapsAnnual County Health Rankings arranged by state begin in 2011. Find statistics for every state in America. Discover policies, programs, and systems changes that can improve health
Collaboration between Robert Wood Johnson Foundation & the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
- Global Health ObservatorySections: Global Health Observatory, Data Repository, Reports, and Country statistics. World Health Organization (WHO)
- World Health Organization (WHO) statisticsGlobal health data from the World Health Organization (WHO)