Skip to main content Thigpen Library Research Guides

Education: Education Resources

education resources for educators and students

These recommended resources focus on education-related topics. The library databases on this page are subject specific and suitable for both educator and student researcher. Free web-based resources from reputable sources are also included.

Find Articles recommends individual periodicals and library databases. Discover education-related streaming videos available from the library. Use ERIC and discover Tennessee websites in the online education resources from government agencies section. Use eBooks / Books to find books online and on the shelf. Get local, national, and international education statistics from reputable sources.

Find Articles

Journals, newspapers, magazines

These links take you to both Thigpen Library subscriptions and free online resources for journals, newspapers, and magazines..

Education databases

Library subscription databases that specialize in articles from journals, magazines, reports and other sources in the education field.

More Databases

Articles on education topics can also be found in the multi-subject databases Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and ProQuest Research Library.

Streaming videos available from the library

The links for Academic Video Online: Premium and Films on Demand take you directly to the education video collections where you can browse by title or search for your topic. 

Thigpen Library's streaming video collections meet accessibility guidelines.

Help with Videos

The Videos guide links you to all the Library's streaming video collections. Get tips on using the videos and creating playlists.

Online education resources from government agencies

A miscellaneous collection of websites that link you to educational research (ERIC), information of school performance and more (Tennessee Department of Education), and a way to locate public and non-public (private) schools in Tennessee (School Directory)

eBooks / Books

Books, either in print or e-book format, are available from Thigpen Library. You will find books on pedagogy, educational theories, and more in the library. Search eBook Collection from EBSCOhost if you want eBooks or search "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to find books available in print at the library.

Prefer to browse? Go to the L section to find Education books on the shelves in Thigpen Library. Find Juvenile and Children's literature in the PZ section.

Education statistics

Find statistical information on education with these resources for Tennessee, National (US), and International education data.

Tennessee educational data

National (US) educational data

International educational data

The primary purpose of this Education guide is to link Vol State students to credible resources to help them with their college classes. The guide also provides resources of interest to K-12 students and teachers.