These recommended resources focus on education-related topics. The library databases on this page are subject specific and suitable for both educator and student researcher. Free web-based resources from reputable sources are also included.
Find Articles recommends individual periodicals and library databases. Discover education-related streaming videos available from the library. Use ERIC and discover Tennessee websites in the online education resources from government agencies section. Use eBooks / Books to find books online and on the shelf. Get local, national, and international education statistics from reputable sources.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases can be used by students and faculty in any subject area. They contain information on a wide variety of topics!
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines. Multidisciplinary.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJournals archive: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VII, XI and the Life Sciences collections. eBooks: Open Books Access collection
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral interest periodical database. Journals available.
For additional resources, click here!
Ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowe-books on a variety of academic subjects from leading academic publishers and university presses. Collection is primarily monographs but includes some reference titles.
- Ebooks (Gale) - TEL Collection This link opens in a new windowReference book collection. Suitable for general audience. Gale Virtual Reference
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - OverDrive eBooks (Libby app) This link opens in a new windowCollection of eBooks available for checkout and downloading.
Sign in to OverDrive with your Vol State username and password to borrow an eBook. To read books on your mobile device download the Libby app. NOTE: The OverDrive mobile app has been replaced by the Libby mobile app.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Multidisciplinary collection includes films from Sony Picture Classics, A&E Television Network programs, and thousands more videos from reputable and well known publishers.
Search for a video. Browse collection by video title list, by discipline or by producer.
Closed-captioned with transcripts. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection. Master Academic Video Collection includes Ken Burns' documentaries, newsreels, TED talks, and programs from BBC, PBS, History Education, HBO, and many more producers of quality programs.
Closed-captioned with transcripts
Find Articles
Journals, newspapers, magazines
These links take you to both Thigpen Library subscriptions and free online resources for journals, newspapers, and magazines..
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowOnline edition which is published every weekday. News, information, and job postings for faculty and administrators in colleges and universities.
Vol State subscription
Use your Vol State email address to create an account for complete access to all articles from off-campus.
- NEA TodayNews and features from the National Education Association.
Education databases
Library subscription databases that specialize in articles from journals, magazines, reports and other sources in the education field.
- Education Full Text (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new windowJournals on special education, adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, teaching methods and other education topics
EBSCOhost database collection. Part of OmniFile
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals, reports, and reference sources on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowJournals for the professional educator and professional development.
NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
More Databases
Articles on education topics can also be found in the multi-subject databases Academic OneFile, JSTOR, and ProQuest Research Library.
Streaming videos available from the library
The following links take you to Academic Video Online: Premium and Films on Demand streaming video collections on education topics. You can browse theses collections by title or search for your topic.
NOTE: Thigpen Library's streaming video collections meet accessibility guidelines.
- Education Collection (Films on Demand) Streaming video collection on curriculum & instruction, foundations, psychology & education, and special education
- Education in Video (Academic Video Online) Streaming video collection. This links direct to the Education channel in Academic Video Online
- Teaching Methods (Academic Video Online) Channel home page for Teaching Methods and related channels. Streaming videos meet accessibility standards.
Help with Videos
Use our Videos guide to get tips about using these streaming video collections. Learn how to create playlists or custom segments.
Online education resources from government agencies
A miscellaneous collection of websites. Find educational research with (ERIC). Get information on school performance and more from the Tennessee Department of Education. Use the Tennessee School Directory to locate public and non-public (private) schools in Tennessee.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) A digital library of education research and information maintained by the U.S. Department of Education. CAUTION: The full text of an article or report is often not available on ERIC. Full text may be available in a library database or at another website.
- Tennessee Department of Education Information on K-12 education in Tennessee. TCAP scores, annual Report Card, and curriculum standards. Government website.
- Tennessee School Directory Find information on schools by region, district or search for individual schools. site maintained by Tenn. Department of Education
eBooks / Books
Books, either in print or e-book format, are available from Thigpen Library. You will find books on pedagogy, educational theories, and more in the library. Search eBook Collection from EBSCOhost if you want eBooks or search "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to find books available in print at the library.
Prefer to browse? Go to the L section to find Education books on the shelves in Thigpen Library. Find Juvenile and Children's literature in the PZ section.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDiscover eBooks on many education topics in this collection.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for education topics or children's literature to find books on the library shelves
Education statistics
Find statistical information on education with these resources for Tennessee, National (US), and International education data.
- Data & Research: Tenn. Dept. of EducationAssessments, assessment results, accountability results, research reports, policy briefs, and other data about the academic progress of Tennessee's students, schools, and districts.
- Research & Assessment: TBRReports, data, and statistics on Tennessee Colleges and Universities from the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR)
- Research - THECFind information on public, private, and for-profit Higher Education in Tennessee from the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC). Includes TN Promise Annual Report, Fact Book, County Profiles, Trends, Drive to 55, and Authorized Institutions & Data.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Research & Statistics - US Dept. of EducationFind data and statistics on education in the United States. Includes information on both K-12 and higher education.
U.S. Government website
- Education Statistics (World Bank EdStats)Portal for comprehensive data and analysis sources for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures, policy, and equity. Country at a Glance shows education in individual countries from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Director of Library Services and Learning Resources
The primary purpose of this Education guide is to link Vol State students to credible resources to help them with their college classes. The guide also provides resources of interest to K-12 students and teachers.