This page is to help students in K-12 classes find age-appropriate information. Find Children's Books online and in the library. Use credible Online Learning Resources and Databases from TEL for reliable resources suitable for school assignments and projects.
Children's books
Use these free collections to read books online without the need for a library card or an e-reader.
- Classic Books (Read.gov) Collection of classic books online. Library of Congress
- Unite for Literacy Free online collection of picture books for children. Read books or listen to the narrations.
Award-winning children's literature is available on the shelves in Vol State's Thigpen Library in Gallatin. Search "Pioneer Search - In the Library" to find a specific title or author. Or browse the PZ section on the second floor of the library on the Gallatin campus.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library
Search for children's books available from Thigpen Library
These links connect you to the websites and catalogs for the public libraries in Sumner County. Links are arranged alphabetically by city name.
Use the following links to find a public library near you in Tennessee or Kentucky.
- Tennessee Public Library Directory Search this online directory of public libraries in Tennessee by county, region, or city.
- Kentucky Public Library Directory Find public libraries in Kentucky. KY Dept. for Libraries and Archives
Online Learning Resources
These sites provide free online learning resources. An account may be needed to access certain features.
- Khan Academy Math, biology, chemistry, physics, finance and history videos. Each video is about 10 minutes in length. Content aligned to K-12 educational standards. AUDIENCE: K-12
- PBS Kids Videos and games affiliated with PBS Kids TV programs.
Databases from TEL for K-12
The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) is a virtual library that provides Tennesseans with access to over 400,000 electronic resources including magazines, scholarly journals, podcasts, videos, e-books, test preparation materials, and more. Here are a few databases appropriate for K-12 students. Go to TEL to see the complete list.
- Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window An easy to use resource for young learners. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Reference materials for Middle school students to complete assignments in their core subjects. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window Cross-curricular content aligned to Common Core State Standards. Find the information needed for papers, projects, and presentations. Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
- TEL4U This link opens in a new windowFree resources for grades K-5. Includes eBooks, homework helper, and games & activities.
Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) - Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) This link opens in a new window TEL is free to residents of Tennessee.
- World Book Online This link opens in a new window Collection of reference resources from World Book. Databases is this collection include World Book Early Learning, World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, World Book Discover, World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, World Book Timelines, and World Book eBooks Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)