Learn more about African American history with books and e-books from the library or articles in databases. or watch a streaming documentaries. Discover digital collections and more when you use recommended free resources on the web.
Photograph source: Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. (1888). W. E. B. Du Bois with the Fisk University class of 1888 Retrieved from https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/8e0981a2-4aec-a10a-e040-e00a18063089
Find books
Books are typically a good information type to use for history research assignments. Scan the book's table of contents to quickly see if the book meets your needs. Use the book's index to find the page where your topic is mentioned. Of course, in eBooks you can simply search in the book.
Search for books / eBooks
Searching is the best way to discover if books are available on your topic. If you want a physical book use the link Pioneer Search - In the Library to limit your search to only physical (print) copies. A search of everything (the default Pioneer Search) finds both physical and eBooks. The eBook Collection from EBSCO is our most comprehensive eBook collection. You will also find eBooks in JSTOR.
- Pioneer Search - In the Library Search for your history topic and find books available on the shelves of Thigpen Library
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Search and find books on a variety of African American history topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes a small collection of eBooks. Limit your search to eBooks if you do not want articles.
Browse the shelves for books
Go to the E classification (History) area in Thigpen Library. The E section is arranged chronologically so you can browse by time period. The section E184-185 has books on African-American history topics.
Other areas to browse are HN (Social history, social problems, social reform), HT (Races) M (Music), and PS (American literature).
Find articles in databases
Use these library databases to find articles from scholarly academic journals and magazines. The database Issues and Controversies in History does not have articles from magazines and journals but its reference articles provide an in-depth look at key historical issues.
- Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Collection of reference articles and primary documents on major historical issues and conflicts. Browse by eras s in World and U.S. history or by regions.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Search for journal articles. Use advanced search and limit to articles.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Search to find articles on your topic. ProQuest is large database with magazines and journals from a variety of disciplines.
- US History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Journals and magazines covering events in U.S. history. NOTE: Access limited by IP to users located in Tennessee Resource provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Watch streaming videos
Discover documentaries and newsreels on events in African American history with these streaming video collections.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Browse streaming video titles by subject or search for your topic. Includes over 7,000 newsreels Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts.
- History Collection (Films on Demand) This streaming video History collection is not limited to African American history topics, but does contain acclaimed PBS series such as Eyes on the Prize and The African-Americans - Many Rivers to Cross. Videos are closed-captioned with transcripts.
Primary Sources
- Black Freedom Struggle in the USPrimary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Free collection created by ProQuest
Explore free resources on the web
This alphabetical list of websites links you to digital collections where you will discover resources on the African American experience from the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian and many other reputable sites.
- African American History MonthFind audio/video, images, and online exhibits and collections on African American history.
This website is a venture of The Library of Congress and others. - Jim Crow MuseumThe Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia at Ferris State University is part of anti-racism movement which uses memorabilia from the past to address the complexities of race, race relations, and racism.
- National Museum of African American History and CultureThe website of the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) is a gateway to the museum’s collection of more than 40,000 objects.
- NYPL Digital CollectionsDigitized items from the collections of the New York Public Library. The database has prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. New materials are continually being added
- Reconstruction in TennesseeImages and documents from the Reconstruction period and Gilded Age (1876-1910) in Tennessee following the Civil War.
Collection from the Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA)